We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Duluth has to offer.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Duluth has to offer.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

For the past 15 years, my family has visited Duluth, ALWAYS staying at the Inn. We fell in love with this hotel for several reasons. (1) You will NOT find a friendlier staff at any hotel. They treat you like one of THEIR family. (2) The Inn has kept up with the times as it has improved the rooms each year with upgrades. From the spacious rooms, to the new TV's, furniture, breakfasts and modern decor all thru the Inn. Enjoy all the flowers and clean green grounds in the summer. (3) Check out the breakfasts. It is much more than an ordinary Deluxe Hot continental breakfast. You have the usual, plus 4 waffle machines, hot eggs, sausage, and bisquits and gravy. We also like the variety of fruits, danish, cereals, juice and coffee, fresh breads and hard boiled eggs. (4) In the evening you can enjoy a cook your own smore, relax in the spacious hot tub, one of the two pools (indoor heated or heated roof pool) plus an adult swim every evening. (5) If you ever what some extras, like an umbrella, bike to ride, board game to play, video to see or a car that needs a brushing off of snow in the winter, you will find the staff ready to accommodate you at the Inn. (6) If you ask for a lake side room, you can sit on your own balcony and watch the sailboats, ocean and ore boats got in and out of the Duluth harbor. Watch the people pass by on the boardwalk. What more can I say. You get what you pay for. Try the Inn, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    131
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
232
174
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Everything is so well planned, from the nice variety of breakfast to the smores by the campfire in the evenings. If I had to just live in the hotel for a week and not go anywhere, it would be great fun! The outdoor heated pool in the snow Saturday looked great. The cappuccino and hot chocolate machine 24 hours a day is very thoughtful. The massive whirlpool in the room made it hard to ever leave. The big swimming pool made it easy to swim laps. I took a walk every morning on the canal boardwalk. I would enjoy staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We spent a night in Duluth, MN for our anniversary. We sat outside at Little Angie's Cantina & Grill, it was a beautiful day. Next we went shopping in a few of the stores on Canal Park, like Duluth Pack. Then we checked into The Inn On Lake Superior. We had a beautiful room with a king sized bed and a jacuzzi tub. There is also an outdoor pool on the roof that is open even in the winter, which is really fun to try. Then we had supper at Little Angie's Cantina & Grill, they have excellent food! And to end the night we saw a movie at the Duluth 10 theater which has really nice comfortable seats. It was a wonderful, relaxing day in Duluth!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Overall, we were happy with our stay. The room was a good size and nicely decorated.
We loved being able to walk right out by the lake from our room. We also loved the complimentary s'mores at night. The one problem is that one of our towels smelled like it had not been laundered. The buffet breakfast was very mediocre.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

My wife and I spent our anniversay night on Sept. 13th in a king suite. We checked in at 2pm and a room was available so we go it before the 4pm normal time, with no problems. There was a 30 inch tv in the bedroom and living room. Our fridge was stocked with 2 sodas and 2 waters. We had a balcony overlooking Lake Superior. There were binculars in the room to see the ore boats close up. The room was clean and very comfortable. While on the balcony you could watch the horse drawn carriages, bicyclists and walkers go by on the boardwalk (canal park) There was a nice beach area just off to our right and many, many shops and restaraunts within an easy walk. At night from 8 - 10 they light up their fire pit and all guests can come out for some smores ans in the morning a continential breakfast is there for you also both included in your room price. The suite normally runs 140.00 I believe we had a coupon and got it for 94.00. We loved it so much my wife and I returned again on the 20th to see some things we missed and we will return next summer for a couple of days at least. There is something for everyone near by. I could go on and on. I recomend you check out this hotels web site and any info you can get on canal park Duluth, MN to see what it has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Love the Inn. They accept pets and the place is kept really clean. One of the few places we can agree on going back to every year.

One reviewer wrote: "too many dogs." I totally disagree. There were only a few dogs when we were there. And their owners seemed to be cleaning up after them. The dog "crap" could have been from other dogs walking by on the boardwalk.

Only negative: a few too many "kids." Lots of running around, too loud, clueless parents. Other than that, this place is PERFECT!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

If you want to stay in Canal Park this is the hotel. The location is great, right on the lakewalk and just steps away from the aerial bridge. The trolley stops in front of the hotel if you want to get downtown, but usually we have plenty to do just walking around Canal Park. I've only stayed in lakefront rooms as the view is the best and totally worth the extra money having a balcony in front of Lake Superior. The smores are fun for the kids (always plenty of fixins) and breakfast is substantial. We left our 2 year olds jacket in the room, I noticed the next day, they found it and mailed it to me immediately, first hotel I have ever had that happen with! That alone makes me love it even more.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.