We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will I come back to this hotel..."You Betcha!!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canal Fulton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Will I come back to this hotel..."You Betcha!!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I was really impressed with the hospitality of this hotel. There was 6 adults and 1 child in our group and we stayed in one of the "cabin" suites. I was amazed that there were 3 beds (2 full/queen and 1 king) and a pull out couch. Every area of the room had a large flat screen tv and our suite had a balcony. We didn't get the lake view but, it had a bridge view. It was really cold outside for our 1 night stay but, can't blame that on the hotel. The hotel was convenient to everything you want to go to shopping, restaruants and down to the lake for ship watching. We didn't go in the pool on the roof but, it was warm water so we could have been fine. Instead we went to the indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. We had hot chocolate and s'mores outside when it was dark, that is such a neat idea. Everything about this place was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    141
    41
    22
    12
See reviews for
251
201
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WISCONSIN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

In heart of trendy Canal Park., great location. Pricey $199 per night (3 nights) but these folks know their business. Outstanding "comp" breakfast.

Negative: Sleeper sofa uncomfortable to sit on.l

This place is squared-away and my wife and I enjoyed our Duluth visit. footnote: Was sold out all nights so it is "recession proof" Go for it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Check-in
I was with a large group. Despite having made reservations months in advance, and being reassured that we could all get ground floor rooms with walkouts, at check-in we were told rooms were assigned first-come first-serve at check-in, and that no ground floor rooms were available. I conceded. But a couple of our party made a fuss, and low and behold, the desk clerk found a couple of ground floor rooms. Moral of the story- get commitments in writing, and don't be afraid to make a scene to get what you want.

The hotel is in a great location- good restaurant minutes (by foot) away, great city-wide walking/biking/jogging path right at the rear door step.

Rooms
Rooms were in good condition. Clean. modern.

If you can not get, or do not want a ground floor, go for the 3rd floor. The view is great. And bring your binoculars.

Staff
Except for incident at check-in, pretty helpfull.

Amenities
Nice indoor pool. The outdoor pool on the 3rd floor is like a super big spa. Not big enough to swim laps, but far bigger than most hotel spas. Clean. Hot. It felt great in the cool mornings.
The hotel lends out bikes. Biking around Duluth was fun. The hotel maintenance guy was very helpful and quick when tires needed filling.

The continental breakfast is very good. Very well-rounded nutritionally.

Pets-
They allow pets. There were lots of dogs. Our kids ended up with dog crap on their soccer ball. Too many dogs.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

s'mors were plentiful and unique, we had a 2 room suit with 3 beds and balcony, right on the lake walk a few feet to the shore, no beach in front but it was too cold for swimming in May, only thing I wish they had was a resturant, when it rains it is very inconvenient to go out in the weather to eat, no problems with the room, no problems with service and very reasonable for a king and 2 queen bed room!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Stayed here while visiting family in the area. Rooms were good. Proximity to the canal was excellent. Great to see the ships coming and going from the room. Breakfast buffet was ok. Kids loved the smores by the bonfire at night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

We stayed here for our second time in May of 09. Nice hotel right in Canal Park. We had a room facing the Lake with a small deck. Our room was clean, but the fridge did not cool too fast. A call to the desk brought two people up to help us. They took awhile to fix it, but all in all it worked out. On the weekend they have a free BBQ which really means pork Ball Park Franks and chips, but still it was free. They also do a great smores fire every night. The pool was great and the hot tub was big. The breakfast was ok, but the only meat was the sausage in the gravyfor the bisquits. Free coffee all day was nice. There is no dinning option in the hotel, or bar, but there are plenty of places to eat nearby. We enjoyed the Famous Daves which is a short walk. Parking is free and the walk to the lake is about 20 seconds. I would say if you get a nice price stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

I made a very last-minute arrangement to stay at this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised that the price was only about $100, when other hotels on the lake were far more expensive. I was able to get a waterfront room, which made for a very nice walk in the morning. The TV remote in the room didn't work and they didn't offer a replacement, so they took $15 off my bill. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.