We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun filled relaxing weekend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elk River, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun filled relaxing weekend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I took my parent up to Duluth for a weekend in October. They had not been to the area since they moved from there 30 years ago. They were so impressed with the improvements in the area and the beautiful hotel we stayed in. Your staff was so friendly and our room was fresh and clean. We all loved the overhead shower. Very relaxing. Thanks for helping me give my parents a wonderful walk down memory lane that they will never forget. The views from the roof top pool is also amazing.

Room Tip: Lakeside room with balcony.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins in the rooms. Makes it easier to be earth friendly.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Rachel A,

Thank you very much for posting your terrific comments about your stay with us last fall. We know how important it is to be able to spend quality time with family so you can relax and create new memories to be cherished for many years to come. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    150
    45
    23
    12
See reviews for
263
213
11
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Travel for business. Hotel was clean, but could use a freshening of decor. Staff was friendly and helpful. Layout is a bit confusing with the convention rooms in between guest rooms and lobby, but not really a big issue.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Nate M,

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your remarks. We value all guest feedback and use it to make improvements and changes. We appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team and hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

see above, you need to remodel to keep up with the other hotels on the strip, the wallpaper, the cielings in the bathroom and above the window. we have stayed there many times in the past and now it just seems like you have let it go a little.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Gil R,

Thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! We will have all the rooms completely remodeled before the end of the quarter. Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice hotel with neat perks such as complimentary pop/water in the room, smores, coloring contest for the kids. Roof top hottub was nice except because of the below zero temps it was shut down one of the days. Good complimentary breakfast. Overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Rick F,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm sorry about the rooftop pool not being open one night and offer my apologies for any disappointment or inconvenience you experienced. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate you including positive remarks. I hope you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauston, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have been staying here during the week for business long term, everyone has been very accommodating. The staff has been extremely helpful and responded favorably to any requests we have made. The rooms are quiet which is also a plus! Nice big breakfast and other perks to staying here bring us back! We will be continuing to stay here for business a few months yet and anytime we return to Duluth!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Kenneth M,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your review and 5 star rating. Satisfying road warriors like yourself is one of the many things we find both challenging and enjoyable. Because you spend so much time away from home, we are very pleased to hear that you were happy with what and how we do things here, and really appreciate your compliments and recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to continuing to serve you during your future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We would never stay anywhere else on Canal Park. We enjoy it all, from the comfy beds / pillows to the breakfast buffet and nightly smores to the outdoor hot tub. The hotel and staff are all 5 stars!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Chris G,

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice and for posting your wonderful review. I'm glad you know you can count on us for the best in service and accommodations, and appreciate your compliments about our team. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed poolside with my grand-daughters, ages 6 and 7. We had a wonderful time. The evening s'mores on the patio was a giant hit as well as the clean pool area and comfortable accommodations. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Cheryl S,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.