We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay on the Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Farmington, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
“Best stay on the Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is fantastic, as most hotels on Lake Superior are. What Sets the Inn on Lake Superior apart is the exceptional staff. Everyone at the hotel is there for you and will make certain your stay is as amazing as the North Shore of Lake Superior.

Room Tip: Lakeside is the only way to go. You will not be disappointed with the amazing sunrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    137
    40
    21
    12
See reviews for
240
183
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

M<y spouse and I enjoyed a clean, quiet, nicely appointed room with a beautiful view of Lake Superior.

The location was perfect for our business in Duluth, very near the DECC. Plenty of restaurants are nearby and so is the pier with the entrance to the harbor.

Without any exaggeration, this was one of the nicest motels I've used. We plan to stay there again for our next trip to Duluth.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear BillM462,

Thanks so much for returning to us and for sharing your comments. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of providing excellent service and accommodations very rewarding. We really appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a wonderful one night stay while winding up our fall trip to the North Shore. It was our first time staying at this hotel and we were impressed. We had a third floor room overlooking the lake and enjoyed watching the boat traffic on lake Superior. We took advantage of the third floor outdoor pool and loved the experience. Breakfast was good and the friendly front desk staff provided local menus for the meal we had delivered in the evening. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our third floor lakeside room provided a spectacular view and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear lesfergie5,

Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The price felt a little steep at first, however when you factor in how wonderful of a location this place, the great bikes that they offer for free, the fire and s'mores at night, the location was on a lakefront walking/running /biking trail and it was "downtown" as well, everything was great. The breakfast was awesome also, hot or cold foods,,,,,eggs, sausage links, toast, porridge , etc were readily available. If we had time, we would have loved to stay longer.

Room Tip: Obviously Lake Superior side is worth the money ....
See more room tips
Green Features: They follow very good recycling, reusing, policies....
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Donna B,

Thanks for choosing our hotel and sharing your great review. We are proud to provide excellent service and accommodations at a reasonable price we feel that we offer good value given our central location and extensive facilities. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While our budget wouldn't permit a repeat of this stay, we had a special group rate that got us a Lake View suite on the third floor, and that view was spectacular. We had a private balcony where we could sit and watch the lake and other lake visitors enjoying the lake or the Water Walk (when not enjoying it myself) and the room had a pair of binoculars for guests to use. Our suite had one bathroom, but two sinks/vanities/hairdryers, (very convenient when two people are getting ready in the morning). This suite was clean and well-maintained; the bed was supremely comfortable and there was enough room for me to do stretching exercises on the floor. This was the first time I have seen signs posted in the hallways noting that they were considered quiet zones, and I would certainly like to see that in all hotels.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are several within walking distance. I won't recommend the complimentary breakfast (powdered eggs) but you can make yourself a waffle, and you can look out at the lake while enjoying your morning coffee. In addition, complimentary s'mores are available every evening on the patio outside the breakfast room.

Staff were always friendly and helpful; upon request, the front desk provided menus for the nearby restaurants.

I didn't have an opportunity to mention to staff that the roof over the indoor pool atrium leaks and was dripping while I used the pool. Let's hope that someone attends to it before it causes major problems. This is much too nice a hotel to allow it to become rundown.

Room Tip: Try to get a Lake or Bridge View room. They're awesome!
See more room tips
Green Features: While there were no placards regarding re-using towels, the towel I left on the rack was still there after the room was cleaned. Coffee cups and glasses in the rooms were ceramic and glass, and so were reusable.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Homelytraveler,

Thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We take a great deal of pride in our people and operations and endeavor to deliver a terrific experience to every guest. I have shared your comment about the pool roof with our maintenance team so they can deal with this immediately. I'm sorry you were disappointed with our eggs and glad to know you enjoyed other items at breakfast. We appreciate your input and hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights. The complimentary smores is a great touch. The rooftop hot tub is very relaxing. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful too.

But the powdered eggs? Was disappointed by the eggs. The rest of the free breakfast was very enjoyable. But for the price i paid, i want real eggs in the morning.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Stephen L,

Thanks for posting your candid comments about you recent stay with us. I'm sorry you were unhappy with our eggs and will take your feedback into consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate that you included positive remarks in your review. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous location right by the lift bridge, on canal park and by the shops. We had the jacuzzi suite with a tub - awesome. Great breakfast in the morning that is FREE, sure to feed the kiddos well so you can save money on a meal. S'mores at night with half a bar of chocolate! Seriously they don't skimp. Bed & pillows were awesome. Free WiFi, we just stayed at the Marriot in West Des Moines last month and you had to PAY for Wifi! If I had to find something...shower was moldy in the corners and needed a wipe out & HBO/Showtime channel service was spotty BUT you don't come to Duluth for Cable!

Room Tip: mindful of where the pool is for kiddo noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear stpaulgal2007,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice review. I'm sorry that our housekeeping job didn't do an excellent job in your bathroom and offer my apologies for any discomfort you experienced. If you would send your room number to me at kenjacobs@zmchotels.com, I'll make sure this is addressed immediately. We will also look into the television problem you mention. I'm glad you enjoyed other aspects of your stay, and that you found us to be a good value. I hope you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;