We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Family Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The Inn is our regular hotel for our yearly family vacation. Once again, they made is feel welcome in their great hotel. The rooms, pool, breakfast buffet, and nightly s'mores make great family memories. Already booked for our stay next year!

Room Tip: Rooms have different views...some are Lake view, Bridge view, and City view. We always choose Bridg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaCopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear MinnesotaCopper,

Thanks so much for returning to us and for sharing your comments. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of providing excellent service and accommodations very rewarding. We really appreciate your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

I travel to Duluth on business several times per year. I've only not stayed at the Inn once and it was just not the same. All the rooms are nice and super clean. The staff is great and the breakfast is great plenty of choices. They'll give you a to go bag if your in a rush.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear russ R,

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice when in Duluth, and for taking the time to write and post your nice review. We value all guest feedback and it is always gratifying when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
291 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

A word of caution first: the rooms differ hugely. Some face the lake, some the parking lot (and the bridge) and some the pool. Avoid the pool rooms, they are noisy and have no real outside window. The others are fine.

The hotel is located in the thick of things, with many restaurants in walking distance. Rooms are nice and large, with good beds and clean bathrooms. Breakfast was average.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear terbang,

Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we offer a wide variety of room types and locations to meet the needs of our guests. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel, even at full capacity, was amazingly quiet. We had a balcony room and enjoyed looking out at the lake which is always beautiful. The beds were comfortable and the free breakfast was very good. Being right in the middle of the action in popular Canal Park helps too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rilera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Rilera,

Thanks for posting your nice comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy your time here and that you would stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Everything was top notch from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. the view from our lakeside room was amazing! The continental breakfast was great, a lot of choices to pick from. The kids liked making smores every night. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwell2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Ashwell2002,

Thanks for posting your great review about our hotel. We're very happy you like us and what we do here, and that you'll be coming back to stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My family and I have stayed at the Inn on Lake Superior in years past, and after our experience this year, we have decided, if at all possible, we will only stay at this hotel when visiting Duluth!

I would recommend spending the extra money to get a room with a view! My son loves looking out and watching ships approach the harbor. He waits excitedly, until it's time to run down to Canal Park to watch the lift bridge go up and see the massive ships pass through into the harbor.

This year, for the first time, we had a room on the main floor. While we were checking in, another couple was asking if they could change their assigned ground level room for a second or third story room (they had not officially checked in yet). We, however, loved our room on the ground floor. We were able to move our chairs and small table out onto the lawn, offering us more space, and we could easily walk to the lake walk or to the hotel's patio. Additionally, other hotel guests in a room a few doors down from us, had brought additional lawn chairs and lawn games (e.g., ladder golf and Frisbee). In future visits, I would even request a ground floor room with lake view!

The breakfasts are fantastic! We would easily have spend $10-15 dollars a person or more for a similar breakfast. The kids loved making their own waffles, and I loved having my coffee outside watching the sun glimmer off of the lake.

The best part about our stay at the Inn on Lake Superior, with the exception of the great view, were the free bicycles available to hotel guests. There were men's bikes, ladies' bikes, and children's size bikes. My 6 year old loved her bike! The bikes were all in great condition, you could keep them as long as you like, and we went further down the lake walk then we ever have before! Great fun!

This hotel has great location, great views, great breakfast, and great amenities!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wisconsinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear wisconsinmama,

Thank you for coming back to stay with us and for taking the time to post your detailed review. I am so glad you know you can count on us for a comfortable stay, with the best in accommodations, amenities and service. We love welcoming you back and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Right from the start it was an easy decision to stay here. The website page offered a "chat with the front desk" so I could ask all the questions I had without having to phone. Then I discovered that as a Canadian citizen, I could receive a lower rate on certain days......just happened to correspond with my days! When we arrived in our room we were thrilled, but even more when we opened our patio door and stepped out to take in the view! The hotel was perfect in every way.

Green Features: There were recycle bins right in the room; i like that.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mclass2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear mclass2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing