We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun in Duluth, MN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family fun in Duluth, MN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at The Inn on Lake Superior for the 3rd time last weekend. I would have to say it is still the best place to stay when in Duluth. The location can't be beat, the service and staff are top notch. They have nice little touches like smores at night for the kids and bikes that you can use for free. My family love this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Fred D,

Thank you very much for coming back to stay with us again, and for posting another great review. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a comfortable stay and great service, and really appreciate your feedback and your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    206
    68
    31
    17
See reviews for
404
299
18
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Complimentary s'mores at night with a bonfire by the lake was a great added touch. Plenty of breakfast items. They got me in the room early, which was great. We liked the roof top hot tub which only had adults later in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Lovethelakes3,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have stayed at the Inn for 7 summers in a row now.We combine our business workshops with family vacation. It is very accommodating in both respects.The staff is wonderful and l highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful, clean, and quiet. Lakeside is beautiful, poolside is good for family, and st...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Inn is very environmental friendly and still accommodates your needs.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Arleen S,

Thank you very much for making us your hotel of choice in Duluth for both business workshops and family vacations, and for taking the time to write and post your review. I'm glad we are able to exceed your high standards for service and accommodations, and really appreciate your great recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here many more times.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice, clean hotel on Lake Superior. We paid the difference and got a lake view. Lovely to sit on our little balcony and look at the lake. Staff nice and accommodating. Breakfast typical of hotel breakfasts, but good. Had LOTS of waffle makers to ease congestion. We didn't take advantage of the pools, but they looked nice. Our room was quiet, esp considering there were lots of groups here. Nice amenities in the room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear jmull50,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments. We look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Having planned our trip at the last minute in July, the prices were pretty steep. That would probably be true at every hotel in Duluth. That being said, I would highly recommend this hotel. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Our room appeared to be recently remodeled. The staff was amazing-very friendly and professional. The breakfast was delicious and well attended with a large variety to choose from, hot or cold. The view of the lake and location to the lift bridge is perfect. An excellent choice for families or couples wanting to relax.

Room Tip: Request a lake view.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel recycles! They have recycling places in the lobby and in the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Wisco5,

Thanks for posting your wonderful comments about our hotel. We value all guest feedback, and it's especially gratifying when it is as positive as yours. I'm glad you were able to relax here and your strong recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delano, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Can't beat the location, you can watch the ships come in right from your room. The service, the breakfast, the nightly s'mores it was all great. Never had to drive anywhere all the shops and attractions are a sort walk away.

Room Tip: Definitely get lake view , ground level was great we could walk right out to the water and the board...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling in every room and all over the hotel. Not to mention solor trash compactors all over the Duluth area.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Dj S,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice review. Canal Park is a wonderful part of Duluth, and we are fortunate to be right in the middle of all the restaurants, shops and attractions here. Being right on Lake Superior and close to the ship canal are two more great things we have to offer all our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and hope we can welcome you back and serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

stayed here for a wedding. The location is great, close to anything Duluth has to offer. The hotel is VERY family oriented - lots of kids running around. The breakfast they offer is excellent. Check in was fine, but a bit disappointed in the "bridge view" room, it was a very obstructed view, they really shouldn't call it a bridge view or charge a premium for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear healsea,

I'm sorry you were disappointed with the view from your room and offer my apologies for not being more descriptive when you were making your reservation. I will certainly address this with our front desk team so we can make any changes to our procedures. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate you including that in your review. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#5 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.