We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, nice rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Delano, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing location, nice rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Can't beat the location, you can watch the ships come in right from your room. The service, the breakfast, the nightly s'mores it was all great. Never had to drive anywhere all the shops and attractions are a sort walk away.

Room Tip: Definitely get lake view , ground level was great we could walk right out to the water and the board...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling in every room and all over the hotel. Not to mention solor trash compactors all over the Duluth area.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Dj S,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice review. Canal Park is a wonderful part of Duluth, and we are fortunate to be right in the middle of all the restaurants, shops and attractions here. Being right on Lake Superior and close to the ship canal are two more great things we have to offer all our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and hope we can welcome you back and serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    150
    45
    24
    12
See reviews for
264
213
11
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

stayed here for a wedding. The location is great, close to anything Duluth has to offer. The hotel is VERY family oriented - lots of kids running around. The breakfast they offer is excellent. Check in was fine, but a bit disappointed in the "bridge view" room, it was a very obstructed view, they really shouldn't call it a bridge view or charge a premium for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear healsea,

I'm sorry you were disappointed with the view from your room and offer my apologies for not being more descriptive when you were making your reservation. I will certainly address this with our front desk team so we can make any changes to our procedures. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate you including that in your review. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I chose this hotel for its great location, good breakfast and price (everything in Duluth is expensive in my opinion). It was right in Canal Park which is fun because it is in within walking distance of so much, including a microbrew. I docked the hotel points on cleanliness and service because our bathroom was not clean and the employee who checked us out, did not look away from her computer for a single moment. On the other hand, the housekeeping staff who I met in the hallway and the staff at breakfast were genuinely kind, cheery and helpful. The breakfast area was spacious, seating was plentiful and there were many items to chose from, including make your own waffle. The hot tub was great. This hotel was quiet even though there were many families staying here.

Room Tip: We did not get a room with a view of the lake and were perfectly fine with this choice. If we wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Valerie M,

Thank you for posting your candid comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry you did not get the excellent service we are known for from members of our team, and hope you will accept my apologies any discomfort or dissatisfaction you experienced. I'll use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation so this type of thing does not continue or recur. I hope you stay with us again so that you can see us at our best.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

What a stellar property. Other hotels with similar views, but the quality of the hotel and the excellent staff make this a not to be missed hotel. From warm cinnamon donuts at breakfast to s'mores at night, the amenities just keep on coming. There is nothing better in Canal Park at any price. Do not miss this one!

Room Tip: The Lake view rooms are the best, but all the rooms are clean, spacious, quiet and well-appointed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Five stars! They pay attention to all the details to maintain and improve the environment.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear rainylady0,

Thanks for posting your nice comments about your recent stay with us. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from and we're glad that we exceeded your expectations. We value your business and appreciate your compliments. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Inn is on the shore of Lake Superior in Duluth. It is right in the middle of shops, restaurants and many activities. We had room 130 facing the lake on the ground floor. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable, with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Very clean. Breakfast included with usual choices. Best feature was ability to walk from room directly to lake front. Hotel is within a block of where the huge ships enter port. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this destination and hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear GoWithGrace,

Thank you very much for posting your great review about your recent stay with us. Everyone here enjoys delivering a higher quality guest experience than our competitors and we really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team, and your recommendation. We look forward to serving you here again,.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Inn was kind of below my expectations. Sure the view of the lake is good but you pay a pretty penny for it. The balcony was nice. We ate our breakfast both days on our balcony instead of in the dining area with everyone else. The location is nice right on canal park. You can walk to anything in the canal area.
The shower -no tub- seemed updated. Good water pressure. The beds were comfortable too. It was nice to have complementary water and soda in the fridge....the least they could do for $250 a night.

The not so good part of the review....the carpets were really out of date and were either worn, stained or dirty. The comforter on the bed had stains and I hope it was clean. The other issue was the hockey team or teams were on our floor. the parents were all getting drunk downstairs and by the fire and about 20 twelve year old boys were being loud in the room next door. Because of the convention center facilities you have to be ready for big groups here.

Here's the big tip.....if one online site says the hotel is full, keep searching. Trip advisor and the hotels website said they were full on the nights we wanted. I was able to find open rooms on Orbitz.

Overall I wanted to give a 3 rating and my wife said 4.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must.
See more room tips
Green Features: Separate wastebasket and recycle bin in the room. .............,,......,....................................................................................
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear MarkandJoy,

Thanks for taking the time to make us aware of your disappointment with us during your recent stay. I hope you will accept my apologies for any discomfort or inconvenience you experienced. We are in the process of upgrading all our rooms - a little over a third have received complete makeovers, including carpet, tho this is no excuse for finding carpets in poor condition. I'm sorry too that you were disturbed by other guests and will use your review in discussions and training to improve the way we monitor and manage our public areas. I hope you will give us the chance to regain your trust on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Duluth is simply a beautiful and well-endowed natural beauty along the shores of Lake Superior in Minnesota. That said, visitors would be well-advised to find a room at one of the four lake-front hotels, ESPECIALLY The Inn on the Lake. We have stayed here many a time and just love everything about it. Though the front staff could be a bit more accommodating and informed, the rest of the hotel delivers in grand style, especially the complimentary breakfast, hearty by all standards, and the marshmallows-and-smores every evening. Use the hotel as a base to drive up to Grand Marais, 100 miles further north, and just 14 miles beyond GM, check out the Nanibijou Hotel, which is noteworthy for its high-tea. Simply excellent! By the way, the Canadian border is just about 40 miles from GM, which, in my biased opinion, is, like Duluth, superior by nature!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, preferably the 3rd, for dramatic views of the lake and vicinity. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear AKD47,

Thanks for staying with us again and for taking the time to write and post your nice review about us and our area. I'm sorry to hear you did not receive excellent service from our front desk team, and apologize for letting you down. I'd like to learn more details so we can make any changes to improve our service and hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can discuss this further. We value your business and your feedback, and look forward to delivering a better guest experience to you the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.