We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had a room by the pool which was noisy at night if you wanted to retire early. Also our sink backed up one morning which made it harder for 4 people to get ready for the day. We did receive a rate adjustment for that night.It is nice and clean with a great view of the lake. Canal Park is a neat place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Mike W,

Thanks for sharing comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry for the problems you had with your sink and apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort you experienced. I'm glad to hear you were satisfied with the resolution we offered when you brought this to our attention. I hope you we can regain your confidence in us the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    141
    41
    22
    12
See reviews for
251
201
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thief River Falls, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had the greatest experience at the Inn on Lake Suoerior for my daughters wedding.
First the event planner did an awesome job from early in the morning until the end of the night.
Service staff was awesome and friendly. They took care of all the clean up after the event, put leftover cake and gifts somewhere safe till morning.
The rooms were very nice, view was great. many of our party enjoyed the heated pool on the roof and the free continental breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Sandy J,

Congratulations and thank you very much for choosing to have your daughter's wedding at our hotel. It was wonderful to be a part of this celebration of love and I'm glad you we exceeded your expectations with the service we provided. I hope you will come back and be able to relax and enjoy yourself here on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed for just one night during the middle of the week in early April 2014 (so very much off-peak). We were warmly welcomed and check-in took just a few minutes. The hotel is in very good condition. The parking lot does seem a bit small as some other reviewers have indicated, which could be a challenge during more peak seasons.

Our Two Queen & Sofa Bridge View room was very spacious, and had a small outdoor balcony. Great bathroom set up for families with the sink area separate from the toilet and shower. The room did indeed overlook the lift bridge, however it also overlooked the parking lot, so take that into consideration.

The indoor pool area looked very clean and well kept and my family (husband and teenage sons) enjoyed the hot tub. Never made it to the rooftop pool. The breakfast room is probably the biggest of any I've seen just in terms of the square footage: spacious room with the food itself as well as ample seating in the adjacent rooms and pool area. Overall a nice breakfast selection with eggs, potatoes, sausage, make your own waffles, cereals, yogurts, breads, bagels, donuts, juice, coffee, tea, and a limited selection of fruit. For a continental breakfast, it was very nice.

We would stay here again, and maybe appreciate the view of the lakefront (which was still pretty covered with the record Duluth snowfall).

Room Tip: Bridge view rooms may also overlook the parking lot. Poolside rooms will be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Catherine W,

Thanks for taking the time to post your detailed review of our hotel. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at The Inn on Lake Superior for a team event. Location was great as was the service and all the amenities offered for the price. Large common areas for the group to gather and play cards or have a team gathering. We would definitely recommend this hotel for large groups.

Room Tip: Loved the view of Lake Superior from our room. Beautiful Sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Family625,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your wonderful review and rating. We really enjoy hosting all kinds of athletes and teams, because we find their spirit and camaraderie very inspiring. Please continue to know how we can make your stay more enjoyable the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O' Lakes, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

S'mores by the lake, complementary champagne and chocolate to celebrate our anniversary, reduced price tickets to the Great Lakes Aquarium, delicious complementary breakfast with hot donuts served at our table are just some of the things that make this hotel extra special. The staff listens to the reason for your trip and is ready with the extras to make your stay at Inn on Lake Superior memorable.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. They even provide binoculars to watch the passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Pam B,

Congrats on your recent anniversary and thanks for choosing to celebrate here with us. Everyone here wants to deliver the best possible guest experience so that all our guests can create and cherish many fond memories of their time here. I hope you will let us share many happy occasions with you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is fantastic for families. S'Mores by the lake, year round. Rooftop heated pool, year round. They make even winter in Duluth feel like a vacation. And the location is ideal. Many shops and restaurants within walking distance and the lake walk is right outside the door so you can enjoy a long walk along the shore of Lake Superior. Finally...best breakfast ever!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear minnesotatravelmom,

Thank you for posting your great review about us! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time here and hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have stayed here probably five times. The first 4 were for a work conference. I fell in love witht his hotel. The view is amazing. The hotel offers some perks too. They put out all the makings for smores every night and light their bonfire pits. They have a pool on the roof! They also have an indoor pool. I brought my family here last year and they loved it as much as I do. My girls loved walking out our room to climb the rocks on the shore. We could see when ships were coming in and run down to the canal to watch them come through. They loved the complimentary hot chocolate. They have a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning too which is perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear latzkero,

Thanks for choosing us when you are in Duluth for business, and for bringing your family here and making us your hotel of choice with them, too. Getting to know guests like you make our jobs of providing an excellent experience for everyone very rewarding. We look forward to welcoming you back and continuing to serve you here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.