We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it twice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Mn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We loved it twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is our second time at this hotel -- first time as a couple, second time with our teen boys. Both visits were great. The hotel is spread out in wings and although we like the indoor pool, we chose the wing away from the pool for quiet at night. And it was very quiet, although we were there midweek and aren't sure if there were many others in our wing. The indoor pool is great -- lots of space inside a gated area, as well as outside the gated area and still viewing the pool, for adults watching their children. The small outdoor pool is also very nice and has a nice view of the lift bridge. Our teenagers loved the heated outdoor pool on two very cold days, including one snowy day, although the hotel closed the pool for a while when the snow kept falling. Breakfast rooms are beautiful -- lots of space and overlooking the lakefront. TV is only in the smaller of the two breakfast rooms so you don't have to listen to the TV if you'd rather not. Spillover breakfast space in the pool area also. The breakfast is delicious, especially the bread. Both mornings the heated selections were different -- first was biscuits and gravy, second was scrambled cheesy eggs. Also had hard boiled eggs, small yogurts, oatmeal, cereals, make-your-own waffles, breads, bagels, donuts, apples, bananas, oranges, milk, juice, coffee, tea. Coffee, tea, and cocoa are available all day long. S'mores can be made at the fire pit outside the breakfast room, right on the lakefront, from 8-10 p.m. Very fun, especially on the cold nights we had in March! The rooms are nice and very clean. Only thing that wasn't our favorite is that the sink area in the city-view queen suite is not in a separate bathroom but instead out in the main part of the room across from the bathroom, which is toilet and shower only. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful in every way -- front desk, housekeeping encountered in halls and pool area, and breakfast staff. The city view is nice and looks out over Canal Park and up the hill towards downtown Duluth. Easy 2-5 min walk to Grandma's and Angie's Cantina for dinner. We hope to be back in the future and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    117
    34
    17
    10
See reviews for
193
156
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We've stayed several times at The Inn and we're never disappointed. Accommodations were clean and comfortable. Service at check-in was awesome (they offered us champagne and chocolate because we casually mentioned that we were staying to celebrate a birthday) and they gave us a quiet room since we told them we are light sleepers. The Inn really is a gem!!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper let them know and they always accommodate. We're almost always given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear WildwoodMN,

Thanks for taking time to write and post comments about your many stays with us. It's guests like you that make it so fun to work here, and we really appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is our go to spot for our trips to Minnesota's North Shore. Great location, in the middle of canal park. You can walk to so many attractions, restaurants and shops. Request a room with a view of the lake and you can sit and watch the large ocean going vessels come in and out of the Port of Duluth right in front of you. Generous breakfast is included with your stay and sitting by the camp fire outdoors every night is a great way to unwind and meet new people from all over the world. The hotel has very easy access to the freeway if you choose to head further north to see the sites up the shore. The staff is helpful and accommodating. Encourage people to talk with the manager when they book their reservations. We were able to get the manager to agree to a very generous discount for a family vacation scheduled for this summer. I can't get the family to try any place new. They love this place!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view on the second or third floor. Quieter and great views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Extremely environmentally friendly. One of the first hotels that I ever saw these practices encouraged.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear CMSMidwest,

Thank you very much for making us part of your North Shore experience, and for posting your nice comments. I'm glad you are happy with us, and hope you will continue to let us know how we can make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I grew up coming to this hotel for mini vacations in Canal Park and this place keeps getting better! I have never had a bad experience. It is a beautiful hotel, especially the view from the lakeside rooms. The outdoor pool is so nice, even when it is snowing, and making s'mores on the patio by the lake is a new fun tradition. We stay here every time we visit Duluth and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lpekuri,

Thank you very much for your loyalty and wonderful review about your experiences here. We want to provide all our guest with the best in service and accommodations and appreciate your compliments. We value your business and your feedback and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Making the reservations was a breeze. The staff was extremely courteous and the hotel even honored the wedding block price that my cousin (groom) had negotiated even though it was past the required date to reserve. Not being from the area, it was also nice to be well received by the desk staff when checking in and throughout our visit. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. They offer a large scale hot/cold breakfast in the morning, which my family really enjoyed, as well as a smore roast at night. This was a great hotel for the weekend and we will definitely book here again if we make it back to the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Joel B,

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your comments. It's always nice to receive positive guest feedback and we really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wife and I arrived on a Thursday (Mar 2014) for 2-day stay just to get away from Minneapolis. Simple check in and check out, great clean rooms, comfortable beds (my wife wanted to take the pillows home). We got a 3rd floor room which was quiet, facing the city (lake was frozen over yet). Snowed while we were there...they wasted no time clearing the lot. Our room had a couch which was nice so we could each sit and use our tablets (gasp!) to check emails. Breakfast was good (typical breakfast of most hotels), facilities overall are good. I would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends and family, and I would stay again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the top floor. We heard no one from below us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Randy W,

Thank you for posting your great comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and really appreciate your recommendation. We value your business and your feedback and look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stay at the Inn on Lake Superior often. From the moment you walk in you are taken to a different place. You feel as if you are not in Minnesota. The Lobby is bright and inviting. The eating area has been redone and is alot bigger and offers so much for everyone. Free coffee and tea 24 hours and smores at night, every night, by lakeside makes this a fun experience for every age. The rooms are clean and very modern. If you need anything they are right on it. You feel so much at home that it is hard to leave when your vacation is over.

Room Tip: lake side is quieter though I feel the city view is not all bad either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Cathy C,

Thanks for posting your review about your many visits with us. It is guests like you who make our jobs of providing the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. I'm glad you know you can count on us and look forward to welcoming you back and thanking you in person the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior
Lake Superior Hotel
Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.