We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay and Great Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay and Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this property over a weekend that Duluth got hammered with a snow storm and unreal wind but, the property and employees were awesome. It's great location for going to the shops and restaurants in Canal Park even with terrible cold weather.
The entire facility is very clean, pool area - very nice, breakfast - great selection, very clean and continuously stocked, the evening s'mores were great. Too cold for the outdoor pool but hope to try it next time we stay.
Every employee we met with was great and has a 'can do attitude'. Not a single employee ever walked by by without asking if we needed anything.
The only issue we did have while staying was promptly taken care of at the time of checkout by discounting the bill which was greatly appreciated and shows even more they appreciate their guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear teamkix,

Thanks for taking the time to write and share your comments about your time with us. It's been a pretty spectacular winter, and I'm glad you didn't let the extreme nature hamper your good times here. Everyone on our team works hard to fulfill our company goal of Delivering A Higher Quality Guest Experience Than Our Competition, and we appreciate your recognition of jobs well done. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    142
    41
    22
    12
See reviews for
251
201
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a great place to stay. Super clean and very friendly and helpful staff. Once you park you can spend an entire weekend in Canal Park enjoying all it has to offer. The rooftop pool in the winter is magical as you enjoy the warm water while huge snowflakes are falling around you. Been there before and will always go back.

Room Tip: Always ask for a lake view room. It's awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear pingsis2,

Thanks for taking the time to share your great review about your recent (and past) stays with us. There is something very special about being in the roof top pool when it is snowing, and I'm so glad you were able to experience and enjoy yourself here. We look forward to serving you again on your future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We visited Duluth in February to see our friends who live there, to see proper snow,experience the cold and to get away from the flooding in the UK. We were not disappointed. I researched Duluth and came up with four possible hotels in which to stay. Our friends put them in order of their choice, I am pleased that T.I.O.L.S was their first choice. We chose a king lake side room, and we were not disappointed. Of course with the long flight we were awake easily to see the sunrise, which was fabulous. Great to have a microwave in the room. Had a go at the smores but did not really get the hang of it and ended up in a fun mess! We left our mark by writing our names in the snow on the room balcony, so look out if you have a room on the 3rd floor. Friendly staff and good facilities, nice shampoo and conditioner. Would have liked a safe within the room but security box at reception worked out okay. We hope to return soon, perhaps next time in the summer. Enjoy yourselves, you won't be disappointed with this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear mrsposhsimontemplar,

I am so glad you hear you had a good time at our hotel during your recent visit to Duluth. I guess every change of weather is good if you've been stuck with one kind for a long time. We are so fortunate that Duluth, even in the coldest times, is a beautiful place to live and I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves here. We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back and serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

When it comes to staying in Duluth, the location of this property can't be beat. Everything in Canal Park is an easy walk from the hotel and even in subzero weather it was easy to reach restaurants and shops and even to enjoy the lake walk a bit. The amenities at the hotel including a fabulous breakfast (the best complementary breakfast I've ever had at a hotel) and smores on the campfire at night were great. The lobby provided a comfortable place to relax by the fireplace and the rooms were well appointed with plenty of room to sit to enjoy the TV or to get work done at the desk.

The only issue I had was that this property obviously caters to sports teams and some of those teams are poorly supervised. My daughter is a competitive swimmer and upon check-in we were made to sign a special form for guests that are staying with athletes agreeing to certain policies including noise restrictions, but sadly there were plenty of other guests (young, male hockey players primarily) that lacked proper supervision. Well past 10pm when the noise rules kicked in, there were players running up and down the hallway, slamming doors, etc. I couldn't phone the front desk or leave because doing either would have woken my daughter who managed to sleep through it all, but at no point did a staff member ever appear to visit our floor to calm things down. Some of the parents of these boys were so inebriated that they were, in fact, even louder than the kids at times. To make it worse, these boys had rooms scattered around the floor we were staying on (which we know because there were "Lakers" signs with the boys names on each of their hotel room doors). Had these boys all been contained in a certain area, I'm confident that the issue would have at least been better as they would have only been disturbing themselves and not other guests.

So my advice is to stay here but only if you have inquired about sports teams being registered first. Or at least request a quieter room at the end of a hallway. I lost a few hours sleep each night of our two night stay and will definitely stay elsewhere (Hampton Inn is right next door) in the future if I can't be assured of a quiet experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the end of a hallway. We were near the elevator about in the middle of the floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear jojoboo,

Thanks for taking the time to write and share your candid comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I am truly sorry that you were disturbed by other guests, and that we didn't do a better job of maintaining the peace and quiet that every guest deserves at night. I will use your review in discussions and training to improve our efforts in this area in order to give every guest an excellent experience when they are with us. I hope you will give us another chance to regain your trust the next time you are in Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was a spur of the moment get away to Duluth for. We found out when we got there the Bentleyville Lights were in full swing. It was below zero outside but we ventured out to see the lights because shuttle service was offered by the Inn. It was so cold the bus didn't start but instead of cancelling the service, staff drove guests in their own cars!! They were all so nice and friendly and provided such prompt service, we barely had a chance to feel the frigid temps!! Awesome staff! We will DEFINITELY be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear deniset0630,

Thanks for choosing our hotel for your spur of the moment getaway, and for sharing your review. Our staff members aim to do everything in their power to fulfill our guests’ needs, and we're happy that you were able to enjoy the wonderful lights at Bentleyville. We appreciate your compliments and your business, and hope we can serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have been visiting Duluth throughout my whole life. My family usually stays at "The Suites" in Canal Park, but we decided to try something different. First off, front desk service was easy and the staff were friendly. We were very happy to see a breakfast area. The cappuccino machine to use whenever was a big plus for us! Our room was a nice bridge view with a patio. We enjoyed the size of the room. No complaints about the room we could think of! We used the outdoor pool once, and it was great! The temperature felt great, and I found the outdoor pool on the roof to be a very neat aspect to The Inn. Another unique aspect we enjoyed was the smores they set out for guests. They were very good! The location of The Inn was great, and we could walk wherever we wanted to go in Canal Park. Breakfast the next morning was very tasty, but we couldn't find a spot to sit. Overall, we are grateful with our decision to stay here! Thank you to all the staff that made our stay enjoyable.

Green Features: Did not know about the environmental practices, but this is good to know! The Inn should display their efforts with this.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Mitch M,

Thanks for giving us try and for sharing your great review. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your business and your compliments. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very nice hotel. The breakfast staff was awesome and actually serving us like in a restaurant. Great hot tubs and location in the middle of Canal Park. They also have a great selection of rooms to accommodate large groups.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Twidelde,

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your comments. It's always nice to receive positive guest feedback and we really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.