We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What's not to like”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A group of us (18 people) stayed for 4 nights and our entire stay was at this hotel was perfect. Friendly staff , very helpfull. Lots of room where you have breakfast and it's a nice place to even order pizza and sit all together as a group. Also a nice touch with the smors and bonfire's on the lakeside of the hotel. Pool area was good although we couldn't use the pool on the roof. (To cold). I would've gone in no matter how cold it was outside. Either way I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Dean G,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your wonderful group visit, and for posting your comments. It was wonderful for us to see so many people connecting and reconnecting while you were here. I'm glad you were happy with us and hope you will be our guests again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    378
    124
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
222
167
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Estevan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were passengers on a diverted flight that was held over. The entire staff bent over backwards to help us all! Not once did we hear the words "no or can't". Fabulous beds , food, and well, everything!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear George L,

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, even if it was unintended and under less than perfect circumstances! Our staff members aim to do everything in their power to fulfill our guests’ needs, as our guests are truly the most important factor in our business. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

All hotel employees were very helpful. If they didn't know the anwser, they found somebody that did. Very courteous and polite. It was a pleasure staying there. Breakfast was also exceptional. One of the best for a hotel

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Brandon D,

Thanks so much for sharing your nice comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. I hope you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I took a trip to Duluth in December 2013 and stayed at this hotel. We stayed in a Lakeside King Room, and the view of Superior was amazing. The room was very clean, the fridge had two cans of pop and two bottles of water, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was extremely friendly. My only complaint about the hotel was that it was a bit noisy in the hallways, and you could hear people in the adjacent room. All in all, I will definitely return to this hotel on my next trip to Duluth.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Peter U,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your comments and 5 star rating. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great place to go to Duluth. We stay there a lot and have never had any issues. The rooms are always clean and the people are nice. The pools are clean and fun. Love the smores outside at night and great view of the lake. It is conveniently located with great shops and food right across the street. Very close to downtown also with can be enjoyable to walk around.

Room Tip: I enjoy the Jacuzzi suites, very nice for price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Jennifer P,

Thanks so much for your loyalty and lovely review. I am so glad you know you can count on us for a comfortable stay, with the best in accommodations, amenities and service. We love welcoming you back and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed her for the better part of a decade on multiple yearly trips to Duluth. For New Years eve I checked into a 2 queen Lakeview room with sofa sleeper. The rooms is average but I have always enjoyed the service until last night. A room full of teenagers with no apparent parental supervision were smoking in the room and allowing the smoke to come into the hallway and make its way into our room. I went to talk to this room and they confirmed they were doing drugs. I proceeded to tell the front desk simply asking for a new room. They responded "if people are smoking they will be fined upon checkout." Ok great, how does that help my situation? One of the worst hotel experiences I have had. Lack or response by the staff has caused me to question my next stay in Duluth.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear oflahm,

Thank you very much for your many visits and your loyalty. I am truly sorry to learn that your most recent experience was not up to our usual high standards, and that you felt you did not receive the excellent service that we are known for and that you are used to. We would very much like the opportunity to make amends and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can continue this discussion personally. I hope you will let us do what we can to regain your trust.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We (2 couples) stayed in their two bedroom family suite by the lake. The room was generous in size and had comfortable beds, clean and up to date bathroom. They had a small refrigerator and Microwave. Two complimentary bottles of water and two cans of pop were provided. One bedroom had the couch, chair and table. You pass through the bedroom with two queens and the bathroom to get to the one with the king sized bed and the small converation area. It was confortable enough for us to enjoy New Year's Eve in the room. The hotel had a great hot breakfast provided and a complimentary s'more roast on an outside fire pit each night (even at -20 degrees) which was well attended. It was too cold to use the heated outdoor pool (closed if under 0 degrees for health reasons), but would have been fun if it were a litte warmer. Indoor pool, sauna and whirlpool were very nice, although we did not use them. Service was great throughout our stay. Our room was a little pricey for a family, but since we shared the suite with another couple, the price was okay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Dnkcarlson,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our hotel and the amenities you enjoyed while staying here. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team and hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.