We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burnsville, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for two nights in December in a jacuzzi room city view. Overall, room was great. Water pressure was good. Lots of hot water. Fridge and microwave in room both were nice. Location is great with restaurants and shops right across the street. Lots of kids in the main pool so if you have kids, they will enjoy. The outdoor hot tub on the roof was great! It closes at 11pm with adult hour from 10 to 11. They had fires each night out back with set ups for s'mores. Nice touch.
Morning breakfast was nice as well and including with your room.
We'd stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear scott2923,

Thank you taking the time to write and submit your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business and recommendation. I hope we can welcome you back and thank you in person soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    131
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
231
174
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have been coming to this Hotel and it just keeps getting better. I enjoy seeing the same friendly staff year after year.
They continue to upgrade and the place is very clean. The location is great!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear KJO612,

Thank you for staying with us often and posting your comments. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becker, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Inn is a bit expensive, but it is worth it. Request a lakeview room and you can watch the ships come and go in your pajamas! You are within walking distance from all the fun stores and restaurants in Canal Park.
The free breakfast is better than any I've had anywhere else. You get a HOT breakfast and not just a doughnut and coffee.
I am a germaphobe and I have never been disappointed in the cleanliness of their rooms.
Highly, highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely request lakeview, third floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Dina K,

Thank you very much for your many stays with us and for sharing your comments. I'm glad we are able to exceed your high standards for service and accommodations, and really appreciate your great recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here many more times.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Although we visit Duluth several times each year, this was our first stay at The Inn on Lake Superior. We will definitely be back! The rooms were clean and spacious with plenty of amenities. We especially enjoyed the large pool area, the complimentary beverages in the lobby and room refridgerator, and the evening s'mores on the back patio. The location was great--right in the heart of Canal Park. Easy walking to restaurants and shopping. Will definitely be back and recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear mahtomedigirl,

Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve you during your recent visit to Duluth. We're very happy you like us and what we do here, and that you'll be coming back to stay with us. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

there are several things that i enjoy about staying at this hotel. First of all, I come every month for work for 3 days (Monday to Wednesday). Although I am there for business, when I get to my hotel I am instantly relaxed. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. i love the complentary water and pop in the mini fridge (although, i am not a fan of pepsi products, so i usually just drink the water). They also have smores by the lake which i love! and even if i dont feel like going outside, i love taking some chocolate to enjoy in my room. the pool area is comfortable, i like to swim laps but when ever i find a chance in the summer i enjoy swimming in the pool on the roof. the view is beautiful!
The only down sides i can identify thus far is the following:
1. there is an odd smell in the halls and common areas. over the last 6 months it has improved but it still lingers. i am unsure if this was caused by the recent construction and upgrades they made.
2. when i go to eat breakfast, it almost always are the same items each month. and perhaps that is because i come on the same days each month (always a monday to wednesday) I wish they would switch it up a little.

The value is especially good during the winter months (obviously), a huge king size bed, a living room and bed room for 99.00. during the summer a standard queen room is 160.00 which is a little steep even for during the week.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear jessica h,

Thank you for your many visits and great review. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a comfortable stay and great service. We are working diligently to eliminate the odor, and apologize for any discomfort this has caused. We value all guest feedback and use it to improve our operation. We really appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

If you like staying at a daycare this is your place. It was too busy and loud, pool was over run with kids as were the hallways, not quiet and peaceful at all. Could barley walk threw the lobby it was so packed. And the parking was the same had to park down the street in a city lot and walk at -4 degrees... If you have kids they would like it, if your looking for a adult get away look else where...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Scrub123,

I am truly sorry you were so disappointed with us during your recent stay and offer my sincere apologies. We want all our guests to enjoy their time here and be happy they decided to stay with us. We take it very seriously when we learn that is not the case, as it is with you. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this further and hope you will send us your contact information so we can pursue this personally. I hope you will give us the chance to make amends and regain your respect.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

First real visit to Duluth for a "couples" few days away from it all and we were pleasantly surprised by everything the hotel had to offer. Great location, expert and friendly staff and an endless list of amenities. Cleanliness of the entire facility was top notch. Complimentary breakfast was great and had plenty of variety, plus menu changes daily. Making S'mores on the back patio in 6 degree weather, not including the midnight wind chill from the lakeside a few feet away, was over the top, especially for us Florida residents. Front desk staff were invaluable in offering suggestions on what spots to hit for entertainment; who knew Duluth was a jazz mecca. Also, Canal Street Brewery, which is just down the road, is a must-do experience for anyone who loves craft breweries.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Lake Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Fritz H,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. It's always nice to receive compliments from happy guests, and I will share your remarks with the rest of our team here. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.