We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ramsey, Minnesota
1 review
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We always stay in this hotel when we visit Duluth. This is one of the best and cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in. Love the amenities! The brand new rooms are awesome. It was a great surprise to get a room upgrade this time when we went. Staff at check in was awesome! So glad to see that they brought back the hot chocolate machine. Was nice after walking to bentleyville and back in the cold. Keep up the excellent work! We love visiting there a couple of times a year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Patti K,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your many visits with us. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of providing the best in service, accommodations, amenities and facilities very rewarding. We really appreciate your compliments and look forward to serving you and your family here many more times.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    131
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
232
174
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Check-In staff was professional and very nice. We had a family suite, two queens in one room, a king and couch in one room. Was fantastic to be able to spread out the family. Lots of little touches in the room, real coffee mugs, micro, small fridge with a few complimentary beverages. Very clean and well appointed. Anytime we needed something extra, housekeeping was there in minutes with a smile.
Next door and above us were also guests with children. Never heard a sound and they said they never heard us. The sound proofing in the rooms was fantastic.
Breakfast is well stocked. While it may not be a gourmet breakfast, there is plenty of offerings for everyone. The hot donuts were a surprise.
Our only problem was constant deactivation of room keys. Near a phone or credit card can deactivate them. So keeping them in a purse or wallet was a problem. Staff at least had good humor about reactivating them for us each time.
Great location in Canal Park, never had to drive. 2nd time there, first time since they remodeled. Lobby is pretty cold when you are at the front desk due to outside doors opening so often and wind rushing in but guest room had very good temperature control.
Great place for a family!

Room Tip: We liked being away from the pool in a family suite. Quiet and easier parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear LakeSuperior5,

Thanks so much for your return visit and for posting your nice review. I'm glad you like what and how we do things here and that you and your family were able to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We came up to Duluth for the parade on Friday night and then Saturday we toured bentleyville. What a fun weekend. The parade was fun, loved the free shuttle from the hotel to the Bentleyville display. The warm apple cider hit the spot on Friday after the parade. The s'mores are always a treat! Staff at the hotel are great-Giving helpful tips for everything. Love staying here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear minnegal,

Thanks for writing and posting you nice comments. Our annual parade and Bentleyville make this time of year so special, and are glad you had a good time here. I hope you will be our guest again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mankato, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The room was lovely, clean, and comfortable! The staff was great. The location is the best. There is a roof top pool and s'mores. We stayed in a bridge view room. What more do you need? The view was good, mostly parking lot, but we paid less for this room. When we left my friends and I agreed that we are now spoiled and will be unable to stay any place else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Jennifer M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post your review about your recent stay with us. The view of the Aerial Lift Bridge from the bridgeview rooms provides our guests the ability to see ships enter and leave our harbor, and the bridge's movements from the comfort of their own room, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. We are glad to hear you will be back and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanhoe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We came on this trip for a conference, but have stayed for pleasure in the past. The only bad part was having to leave! Love, love, LOVE the pool on the roof...even in November! Staff has always been friendly and helpful. The family can't wait for the next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Regina L,

Thanks for your many visits and for taking the time to write and post your comments. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I came here for business at the convention center and had never been here before. Lake Superior had always been a favorite place to travel to, but I had never been to Canal Park before. I've fallen in love with the Inn and Canal Park. I had a lakeside room and experienced the beautiful full moon over Lake Superior. The rooms are spacious, with many amenities. Everything is very clean and welcoming. Staff were very friendly and willing to help. Canal Park is a very special place. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a lakeside room!!! The view is priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear earthdrummer,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent event, and for posting your nice review. I'm glad you are happy with what and how we do things here and really appreciate you recognition of jobs well done by our team. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Inn on the Lake is always consistent with great service, great location, and nice amenities. Bedding and mattress are all good quality - no foam blankets! During high season on weekends, the place is deluged with families. I love kids, but they will overwhelm the pools during these times. We enjoy the rooftop pool, but the teenagers that congregate there definitely project a chill when they see a fifty something couple arrive.

During our November Sunday overnight, it was nicely quiet. My husband was thrilled to see a fox when he went out to make a 'smore around the fire. It was skittish, but came up and accepted a marshmallow.

At breakfast Monday, there were at least three ships that came in or went out between 7:30 and 9:00 (we were wandering in and out of the dining area), and the view from the Inn's dining room is first rate. It was a fun touch that one of the servers went around the dining room offering mini-donuts fresh from the fryer.

All around great base from which to explore Canal Park.

Room Tip: If you want lake views from the balcony, take at least a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.