We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Park Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
“Beautiful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I came here for business at the convention center and had never been here before. Lake Superior had always been a favorite place to travel to, but I had never been to Canal Park before. I've fallen in love with the Inn and Canal Park. I had a lakeside room and experienced the beautiful full moon over Lake Superior. The rooms are spacious, with many amenities. Everything is very clean and welcoming. Staff were very friendly and willing to help. Canal Park is a very special place. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a lakeside room!!! The view is priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear earthdrummer,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent event, and for posting your nice review. I'm glad you are happy with what and how we do things here and really appreciate you recognition of jobs well done by our team. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    140
    41
    22
    12
See reviews for
250
200
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Inn on the Lake is always consistent with great service, great location, and nice amenities. Bedding and mattress are all good quality - no foam blankets! During high season on weekends, the place is deluged with families. I love kids, but they will overwhelm the pools during these times. We enjoy the rooftop pool, but the teenagers that congregate there definitely project a chill when they see a fifty something couple arrive.

During our November Sunday overnight, it was nicely quiet. My husband was thrilled to see a fox when he went out to make a 'smore around the fire. It was skittish, but came up and accepted a marshmallow.

At breakfast Monday, there were at least three ships that came in or went out between 7:30 and 9:00 (we were wandering in and out of the dining area), and the view from the Inn's dining room is first rate. It was a fun touch that one of the servers went around the dining room offering mini-donuts fresh from the fryer.

All around great base from which to explore Canal Park.

Room Tip: If you want lake views from the balcony, take at least a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We loved being able to walk in the downtown area, go to Canal Park and watch a ship come in, and walk back to the hotel. It was so fun. The customer service was exceptional. The room was very clean, and the bed was so comfortable. It would have been fun to stay another day just to get time to enjoy the pool area. The view was beautiful and the little pair of binoculars to watch for the ships were so fun! Can't wait to come back again!

Room Tip: We did not use room service, but the continental breakfast had a large selection of food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear SilverDog2013,

Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Whenever we're in Duluth we stay at the Inn on Lake Superior. The rooms are very nice, fairly large and many have great views of the lake. There is a free breakfast but it wasn't very good on the Friday we left. Eggs that had been sitting for some time in the heaters and no meat choices whatsoever. You can't beat the location which is right on the canal and within a block or so of many restaurants, antique stores and tour boats. We've stayed at other hotels on this street but the paper thin walls left much to be desired. This hotel is quiet and offers a good night's sleep.
There are s'mores each evening around the fire on the lake side of the hotel and they are very popular.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear SteveoinMinnesoto,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast and offer my apologies. I will use you review in discussions and training to improve our operation. We value your feedback and your business and hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutsen, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This place really has it down. I really admire the management of this facility. From check in to check out all was totally professional, well thought out and off the charts in terms of attention to detail. Everybody--I mean everybody is friendly and professional. Rooms are immaculate and well appointed with real coffee mugs, binoculars and complimentary beverages. It was very slow so we asked for and got a lake view room to our liking. It was really wonderful in comparison to a couple of nights before at another place. Wish we would have stayed all 3 nights here!

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View Room on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Lutsenresorter,

Thanks for coming back to stay with us and submitting another review about your experience here. It i's guests like you who make our jobs keeping the hotel at the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

1st stay here, although have been celebrating in Duluth for years. Very clean, comfortable room with a Great Lake view. Good breakfasts in am even warm fresh tiny doughnuts. Yum! Received a great rate. Would be worth paying seasonal up charge. Enjoyed coffee in room in real cups. No plastic here. Will stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Skjohns2,

Thanks for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us this year. It's always nice to receive positive guest feedback and we really appreciate your compliments. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here for many birthdays to come.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Was very impressed with this hotel. We stayed in a Whirlpool King Suite and couldn't believe the size of the tub! Everything was very clean and we loved the massage bars they provided. They kept all amenities well stocked and the we had no problem with noise. The outdoor pool was amazing!! While it was heated, it was still a little too cold outside to fully enjoy it; but the view was awesome. Their breakfast area had an amazing view of the lake. The hot tub was nice and big and they also have a sauna! We achieved exactly what we were looking for from this hotel - relaxation.

Room Tip: We reserved under city view and it actually was a view of nothing but the roof/exterior wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Kylie J,

Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your comments and 5 star rating. We value all guest feedback and really appreciate your business. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.