We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lutsen, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could not be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This place really has it down. I really admire the management of this facility. From check in to check out all was totally professional, well thought out and off the charts in terms of attention to detail. Everybody--I mean everybody is friendly and professional. Rooms are immaculate and well appointed with real coffee mugs, binoculars and complimentary beverages. It was very slow so we asked for and got a lake view room to our liking. It was really wonderful in comparison to a couple of nights before at another place. Wish we would have stayed all 3 nights here!

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View Room on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Lutsenresorter,

Thanks for coming back to stay with us and submitting another review about your experience here. It i's guests like you who make our jobs keeping the hotel at the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    127
    37
    20
    11
See reviews for
225
170
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

1st stay here, although have been celebrating in Duluth for years. Very clean, comfortable room with a Great Lake view. Good breakfasts in am even warm fresh tiny doughnuts. Yum! Received a great rate. Would be worth paying seasonal up charge. Enjoyed coffee in room in real cups. No plastic here. Will stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Skjohns2,

Thanks for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us this year. It's always nice to receive positive guest feedback and we really appreciate your compliments. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here for many birthdays to come.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Was very impressed with this hotel. We stayed in a Whirlpool King Suite and couldn't believe the size of the tub! Everything was very clean and we loved the massage bars they provided. They kept all amenities well stocked and the we had no problem with noise. The outdoor pool was amazing!! While it was heated, it was still a little too cold outside to fully enjoy it; but the view was awesome. Their breakfast area had an amazing view of the lake. The hot tub was nice and big and they also have a sauna! We achieved exactly what we were looking for from this hotel - relaxation.

Room Tip: We reserved under city view and it actually was a view of nothing but the roof/exterior wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Kylie J,

Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your comments and 5 star rating. We value all guest feedback and really appreciate your business. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakapeee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Right now I'm relaxing in a comfortable bed,yummy s'mores in my throat,overlooking a beautiful lake,waiting for hot breakfast in the morning. All the other hotel don't have private porch. It great! The lady at the front was very rude. It a GREAT

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear valleyfair,

Thanks for posting your wonderful review and rating about our hotel. I'm truly sorry if you did not receive the excellent service we are known for from a member of our team and would like to learn more. I hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can discuss this further. I'm glad you were happy with your stay and hope you will let be our guest again and let us show you this one incident was the exception, not the rule.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazeppa, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Inn On The Lake is comfortable, relaxing, addictive! We stay there at least once a year and are 110% satisfied each time. It costs a lot, but being so close to Lake Superior and Canal Park's restaurants and attractions is worth it. They have remodeled and upgraded their facility recently - it is very nice. In the few times we have had a disappointing experience, the management is very proactive in making amends. We love the Inn On The Lake!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room - we saw a perfectly calm lake, one with crashing waves, clouds hovering over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Diane195019681971,

Thank you for your many visits and for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We've now stayed here twice and loved it both times. The heated rooftop pool is wonderful on a chilly night, and there are countless little touches the hotel offers to make your stay memorable: nightly s'mores, but also a staff member who comes around at breakfast with fresh mini-donuts! (That may be just on weekends, I'm not sure.) They sometimes have free hot cider in the lobby, as well as a fireplace with a fire. There are loaner binoculars in your room, and complimentary pop in the mini-fridge. There was music down in the breakfast area on Friday and Saturday night.

The hotel is right on the shores of Lake Superior and the view from the lake front rooms is fantastic.

Room Tip: You'll be happiest with a third-floor room if you want to use the heated rooftop pool on a chill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear NMpls,

Thanks for coming back to us and posting your comments. I'm glad you like what and how we do things here an hope we can serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North St. Paul, Mn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We visit Duluth Superior a couple of times a year, & at least one time we will stay at The Inn on Lake Superior. The Inn is located in Canal Park so it is in the heart of where the action is, but its still quiet enough also. We stayed on the top floor (room 336) facing the lake. Let me tell you the view is to die for. The ships come through day & night, so you will get a good look at them coming & going. This resort does everything just right when it comes to comfort & hospitality. They have a full breakfast in the morning that is wonderful. Every room has a balcony, we would enjoy a cocktail while sitting out there with the great view. I cant wait to return in the near future.

Room Tip: If you can, get a Lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear 63moose,

Thanks for your many visits and detailed review. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments.We look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.