We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com AMOMA.com
and 2 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great locations and hotel! I loved the full free warm breakfast every morning and free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate throughout the day. The smores at night were great too! I was impressed and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear SolaraMinnesota,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments and 5 star rating. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    118
    34
    17
    10
See reviews for
196
158
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire WI
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Attended a conference at this hotel. The rooms are very nice, we had a king room with a separate living space that actually had a comfortable sofa. The bed was very comfortable as well. Pool is nice, public space off the lobby has amazing lake view. This hotel is right on the lake, it can be windy and cool when the weather isn't perfect. The hotel is close, walking distance to shops and restaurants. Free breakfast is very good, lots of selection even for me who is gluten free. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Lake view room would be nice, but can be windy, causing noise in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear mcbarkr,

Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to Duluth. I'm glad our service and accommodations met your needs and expectations. I hope the conference went well and that you had some time to get out and enjoy our area. We appreciate your feedback and your business and look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis/St. Paul
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here in mid-July for a mother-daughter weekend in Duluth. You simply cannot beat the location. The view of Lake Superior and access to the Canal path is wonderful. We parked our car and were able to walk to all the shops and restaurants. The Inn offers a fantastic breakfast. Not just a cereal and muffin deal, but a full selection of hot/cold items, including waffles, eggs, sausage, fresh fruits, yogurts, etc. The breakfast area overlooks Lake Superior and is a great place to start the day.

The Inn also has complimentary bikes. Such a great feature and they had bikes suitable for my 8-year old. We used these each day of our trip. It was so convenient and the staff was extremely helpful. We used the pool twice, which my 8 year old loved. It is a little bit older, but clean and spacious. The hot tub could use an update, but it was fine. We did not use the rooftop pool. We checked it out and it is extremely small.

The evening s'mores on the back patio was nice and an added touch. We had a ground floor lake-view room with a walk out balcony. I think the walk-out rooms are best because you have immediate access to the path. We sat out and watched the boats and activity on the water and also the stagecoach/horses that pass through regularly. The Inn's rooms themselves are nothing special. Ours felt a bit dark, despite the large window facing the lake, but it was clean and spacious and we did not spend much time there during the day. The fridg in the room was great for beverages and snacks.

When traveling to Duluth, we will definitely stay here again. The location is fantastic, the staff was great and I think the value they offer is right on point.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear bristolbailey,

Thank you for making the time to write and submit your detailed review of our hotel. It is guests like you who make our jobs of providing the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stayed at the Inn On The Lake to see the tall ships come in. We had a great view off our balcony and avery comfortable room. I wish they still allowed dogs as we enjoyed bringing them their. I would stay here again. They have a great breakfast and free somores at night.



Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Kathy B,

The Tall Ships Festival was a great event, and we're glad you chose to stay with us during that fun time. We value your business and comments, and miss having dogs as guests, too. I hope you will let us serve you here again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel. I enjoyed all aspects of it. The location and view were spectacular. I appreciated how I could walk to so many things, restaurants, museums, the lake shore, movie theaters, and the convention center. The room was clean and contained so many thoughtful features, even a small binoculars to watch the ships come and go from the harbor. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Maroonchief,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your wonderful remarks. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope we can serve you here again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended! May not be the fanciest business/conference type hotel you'll ever stay at but it's little thoughtful and unexpected touches are a delight... even s'mores around fire pits for instance! No restaurant or bar though they do provide a free breakfast. Really, I consider that all to the good because it encourages you to explore all the little shops and eateries right across the street. Also directly on the Lake and next to where the ships come in and out. Super easy access to the interstate and town but it doesn't feel like an interstate hotel. Bikes are provided at the hotel and there are even more available just a little ways down the combination boardwalk and biking/running path.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear BigCabDaddy,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your wonderful comments. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and hope you will be our guest again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Once a year bliss. Always a treat to stay at The Inn. My parents and other family members have stayed here multipe times. I always recommend The Inn. You just can't beat being right in canal park. So much to do. Good breakfast variety. Great pools. Good service. Can't wait till next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Janelle N,

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for making your very first TA review about your experiences at our hotel. It's guests like you who make our jobs of providing top notch service and accommodations so enjoyable and rewarding. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior
Lake Superior Hotel
Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.