We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Litchfield, Minnesota
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel. I enjoyed all aspects of it. The location and view were spectacular. I appreciated how I could walk to so many things, restaurants, museums, the lake shore, movie theaters, and the convention center. The room was clean and contained so many thoughtful features, even a small binoculars to watch the ships come and go from the harbor. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Maroonchief,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your wonderful remarks. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope we can serve you here again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    151
    45
    24
    12
See reviews for
264
213
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended! May not be the fanciest business/conference type hotel you'll ever stay at but it's little thoughtful and unexpected touches are a delight... even s'mores around fire pits for instance! No restaurant or bar though they do provide a free breakfast. Really, I consider that all to the good because it encourages you to explore all the little shops and eateries right across the street. Also directly on the Lake and next to where the ships come in and out. Super easy access to the interstate and town but it doesn't feel like an interstate hotel. Bikes are provided at the hotel and there are even more available just a little ways down the combination boardwalk and biking/running path.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear BigCabDaddy,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your wonderful comments. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and hope you will be our guest again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Once a year bliss. Always a treat to stay at The Inn. My parents and other family members have stayed here multipe times. I always recommend The Inn. You just can't beat being right in canal park. So much to do. Good breakfast variety. Great pools. Good service. Can't wait till next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Janelle N,

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for making your very first TA review about your experiences at our hotel. It's guests like you who make our jobs of providing top notch service and accommodations so enjoyable and rewarding. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel about 6 times and every time it has been enjoyable. The evening "bonfire" (propane) with s'mores is always a hit with the kids. The breakfast is very ample and the pools are nice. The rooftop pool is great in the cooler weather and being next to the lake is great. Bring your walking shoes, there is nothing nicer than a sunrise or sunset on the boardwalk next to Lake Superior!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent two days at this property. It is clean and employees are friendly and very helpful. There were two items that could have been better. One is the room we were in is starting to show its age. It is probably hard not show its age considering the number of people who stay there each day. The other item is the free breakfast. It is not different from what you can find in any of the other hotels you can stay at throughout the US (if they offer free breakfast). It would be nice if there was a highlighted menu posted so customers can decide whether they will eat breakfast as served, or to go to a restaurant for more appetizing fare.

Room Tip: Save room for the smoors offered at 8:00 outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Peter M,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your candid comments. I like your suggestion about a printed menu for breakfast and will bring that up during our next planning meeting. We are in the process of remodeling and updating all the rooms in the hotel, about 20% have been completed so far. I hope you like the changes we make the next time you stay with us. We value your business and input, and hope we can serve you here again soon.

Sincerely,


Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had extended stay needs in Duluth for the entire month of August and the beginning of September. I spent the first part of my stay at the Sheraton (I was beyond unimpressed despite having elite status there).

What a difference at Inn On Lake Superior! The customer service was amazing from check-in to breakfast to housekeeping. The rooms are spacious and clean and the beds are superbly comfortable. I easily spend 50+ nights a year in hotel rooms - comfortable beds make a difference.

The complimentary breakfast is abundant. They have everything from cereal and fruit and yogurt to a selection of hot items each day - one day was an omelette and sausage, another was scrambled eggs and cheese with sausage. There is also the usual array of pastries, breads, and the like. Plenty of juice, milk, and coffee selections also include lattes and such (from a self-serve machine).

As someone here for business, I really liked the "grab and go" breakfast option that I could bring to the office.

The location is ideal for just about any reason you are visiting Duluth. Plenty of restaurants and shops within a block or two, and an easy 10 minute walk to downtown. Easy access from the freeway, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room - it's a great view! The rooms with the jetted tub are also fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After a week long road trip of 1600 miles, we were looking for a place in downtown Duluth where we could just park the car and enjoy a nice place. We did not have reservations so I called a few places and most places were very expensive. We drove out to Canal Park Drive and stopped at the Inn on Lake Superior. We were greeted immediately by front desk staff and they were so helpful. This place is a model of customer service. Everything was explained thoroughly in regards to what the hotel offered during our stay. We stayed in a 2nd floor room overlooking the pool. Our room was very clean and large. It was decorated very nice. Breakfast was wonderful in the morning. There were plenty of healthy choices, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc along with all the "all you can eat" choices. We brought our morning coffee and food out to the outside patio overlooking Superior each morning and the view was breathtaking. The hotel also offers bikes for guests and there is a 15 mile bike trail that passes right in the back of the hotel. Each night Smores are offered on the outside patio. This hotel was very reasonably priced for all the services that we received. We were so impressed with this hotel and Duluth that we can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.