We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Fabulous family fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Between the room with a balcony overlooking the Lake, the s'mores, the pool/sauna/hot tub, the location near so many fun shops and restaurants, the Inn is a perfect get-a-way spot for families. We return yearly for the experience and also to take day trips to Gooseberry Falls, the point, and other beaches and local attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Skarno,

Thank you for your many visits and for taking the time to share your comments about us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    151
    47
    26
    12
See reviews for
270
215
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We came for a family trip and chose our room type because when in Duluth you must have Lakeview! The room was clean, modern, and spacious. The room has a fridge, microwave, and a balcony with seating. The staff are very friendly and catering. We enjoyed our stay at the Inn!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Denise M,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your time here, and hope you will let us know how we can earn that 5th star from you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Inn used to be our Hotel of choice wihen visiting Duluth from Thunder Bay. Well situated in Canal Park and close to restaurants, boutique shopping, nightlife and a quick drive up to Miller Hill or over to Superior.

We stopped staying at the Inn for the last 18 months as the lobby and breakfast area was tired and we always had issues with wifi. We opted to stay with them this past weekend after seeing the photos on Facebook of their recent lobby renovations. What a difference six months of retrofitting can make!

The lobby is beautiful, the breakfast area completely re-done and the layout much improved. The wifi has either been upgraded or they've installed additional access points as we didn't have any issues.

Very family friendly, this is a great hotel for a group of families, also well suited for younger folks looking for nightlife, the hotel is slightly closer to bars and restaurants than the Canal Park Lodge.

Room Tip: A bridge view room is great! You can see the aerial lift bridge and boats coming into the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear digerati,

Thanks so much for coming back to stay with us again on your recent visit to Duluth. We are very proud of our renovations and I'm glad you like the improvements we've made. I hope you will continue to let us serve you when you are in town.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family recently stayed in Duluth for 2 nights. One night at a hotel in downtown Duluth (we were there for a wedding) and the next night we stayed down in Canal Park at The Inn on Lake Superior. The staff went above and beyond to make sure you had everything you needed, the live outdoor entertainment while you play bean bag toss or roast s'mores made you feel like you were at your own cabin. And the awesome location to the water was the cherry on the top! We'll definately be back...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Chrissy G,

Thanks for staying with us with your family after the wedding you attended downtown. Of course we want all our guests to have the same excellent experience that you had, and I'm glad we exceeded your expectations. I'm happy to hear you'll be back and look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

At this Canal Park inn, you get first-class accommodations and the most awesome views of Lake Superior and Duluth Harbor. From the moment you walk into the lobby, you feel the gracious ambience of a continental hotel, yet you also feel the comforts of being at home. The Inn is my favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear YoMoKnows,

Thanks so much for making your very first TA review about us, and for making it such a nice one. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from and are happy to hear that you'll be staying with us again. We appreciate your business, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I rode motorcycle to Duluth to see the sights and visit friends We had stayed at the Inn on Superior once before, shortly after it was built. We loved the room, location and the friendly staff and decided to stay again if we got back this way. We were not disappointed upon our return. We found that the motel was newly remodeled. Check in was a breeze, even with the high volume of people checking in at the time of our arrival. The staff was very friendly efficient and quick to answer questions we had. Our ground floor, lakeside, King Jacuzzi room was clean, with plenty of towels and amenities. The pillow top king size bed was very comfortable and had five pillows of differing firmness, so I had no problem finding one to my liking. I've resorted to using my rolled up leather jacket as a pillow, at some of the places I've stayed at. Not here! The complimentary sodas and bottled water in the fridge was a nice touch, not to mention the binoculars that were provided with the room, to be used for viewing during our stay. My fellow motorcycle riders should be happy to know that there is a low traffic area near the front entrance just for motorcycle parking. They even have rings imbedded into the parking lot for extra security of the motorcycle. Not that its needed in this neighborhood. The Inn even provides free use of bicycles for their guests, should they be so inclined.
The cost of the room, this time of year is pricy, but I have paid way more for a heck of a lot less at other places. There is a lot to see and do, all within walking distance, so you can't beat the convenience, and the view from the lakeside rooms is fantastic! The breakfast was as good as any, with plenty of options to chose from. Fresh fruit, baked goods, scrambled eggs & link sausage & lots of other choices as well. The only fault that I can think of was that of my own, I forgot to request a fan for my wife, when I made the reservation and they were all spoken for when we got there. Dang hot flashes!
Anyway, we both both enjoyed our stay - she slept nearest the air conditioner. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear NDfrmboy,

Thank you very much for remembering us and then taking the time to write and post your detailed review about your recent stay here. Guest safety and comfort are our top priorities, and we take the responsibility for both very seriously. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you on a future trip.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Inn twice now, and most recently was this past June. The hotel lobby and most of the rooms have been remodeled. I was very impressed with the new design and décor. We requested a lake view room and it did not disappoint. I was traveling with a female friend and our daughters who were celebrating turning 12. I made a notation of this on the reservation and when we got to our room, there was sparkling cider, champagne glasses and a treat bag awaiting the girls along with a note wishing them a very happy birthday! We were so impressed. The FREE breakfast is very nice with many choices. But the best part is the lakeside view and the smores every night! I love the location right in Canal Park. This hotel is close to all the great shops and restaurants and there are so many great activities. Do not miss the rooftop pool...heated!! And they even offer FREE bicycles! This is my hotel of choice forever...each time I head to the North Shore!! A wonderful place!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view! Visit the roof top pool at night, and take a bike for a spin on the boardwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear lkhuges,

Thanks for coming back to us for the girls' 12th birthday celebrations! We want to create long lasting pleasant memories for all our guests, and I'm glad we made you all happy. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again on future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.