We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff + Amazing Location= Amazing Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
“Amazing Staff + Amazing Location= Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family recently stayed in Duluth for 2 nights. One night at a hotel in downtown Duluth (we were there for a wedding) and the next night we stayed down in Canal Park at The Inn on Lake Superior. The staff went above and beyond to make sure you had everything you needed, the live outdoor entertainment while you play bean bag toss or roast s'mores made you feel like you were at your own cabin. And the awesome location to the water was the cherry on the top! We'll definately be back...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Chrissy G,

Thanks for staying with us with your family after the wedding you attended downtown. Of course we want all our guests to have the same excellent experience that you had, and I'm glad we exceeded your expectations. I'm happy to hear you'll be back and look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    124
    36
    19
    11
See reviews for
217
167
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

At this Canal Park inn, you get first-class accommodations and the most awesome views of Lake Superior and Duluth Harbor. From the moment you walk into the lobby, you feel the gracious ambience of a continental hotel, yet you also feel the comforts of being at home. The Inn is my favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear YoMoKnows,

Thanks so much for making your very first TA review about us, and for making it such a nice one. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from and are happy to hear that you'll be staying with us again. We appreciate your business, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, North Dakota, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I rode motorcycle to Duluth to see the sights and visit friends We had stayed at the Inn on Superior once before, shortly after it was built. We loved the room, location and the friendly staff and decided to stay again if we got back this way. We were not disappointed upon our return. We found that the motel was newly remodeled. Check in was a breeze, even with the high volume of people checking in at the time of our arrival. The staff was very friendly efficient and quick to answer questions we had. Our ground floor, lakeside, King Jacuzzi room was clean, with plenty of towels and amenities. The pillow top king size bed was very comfortable and had five pillows of differing firmness, so I had no problem finding one to my liking. I've resorted to using my rolled up leather jacket as a pillow, at some of the places I've stayed at. Not here! The complimentary sodas and bottled water in the fridge was a nice touch, not to mention the binoculars that were provided with the room, to be used for viewing during our stay. My fellow motorcycle riders should be happy to know that there is a low traffic area near the front entrance just for motorcycle parking. They even have rings imbedded into the parking lot for extra security of the motorcycle. Not that its needed in this neighborhood. The Inn even provides free use of bicycles for their guests, should they be so inclined.
The cost of the room, this time of year is pricy, but I have paid way more for a heck of a lot less at other places. There is a lot to see and do, all within walking distance, so you can't beat the convenience, and the view from the lakeside rooms is fantastic! The breakfast was as good as any, with plenty of options to chose from. Fresh fruit, baked goods, scrambled eggs & link sausage & lots of other choices as well. The only fault that I can think of was that of my own, I forgot to request a fan for my wife, when I made the reservation and they were all spoken for when we got there. Dang hot flashes!
Anyway, we both both enjoyed our stay - she slept nearest the air conditioner. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear NDfrmboy,

Thank you very much for remembering us and then taking the time to write and post your detailed review about your recent stay here. Guest safety and comfort are our top priorities, and we take the responsibility for both very seriously. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you on a future trip.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Inn twice now, and most recently was this past June. The hotel lobby and most of the rooms have been remodeled. I was very impressed with the new design and décor. We requested a lake view room and it did not disappoint. I was traveling with a female friend and our daughters who were celebrating turning 12. I made a notation of this on the reservation and when we got to our room, there was sparkling cider, champagne glasses and a treat bag awaiting the girls along with a note wishing them a very happy birthday! We were so impressed. The FREE breakfast is very nice with many choices. But the best part is the lakeside view and the smores every night! I love the location right in Canal Park. This hotel is close to all the great shops and restaurants and there are so many great activities. Do not miss the rooftop pool...heated!! And they even offer FREE bicycles! This is my hotel of choice forever...each time I head to the North Shore!! A wonderful place!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view! Visit the roof top pool at night, and take a bike for a spin on the boardwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear lkhuges,

Thanks for coming back to us for the girls' 12th birthday celebrations! We want to create long lasting pleasant memories for all our guests, and I'm glad we made you all happy. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again on future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The nightly s'more bar was a great idea. It's a fantastic hotel for both couples and families.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Coolerthanlegos,

Thanks for posting your comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you like what and how we do things here and hope you will let us serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The reason I give a 2 for cleanliness, its not the rooms or lobby it is the eating area.This is only thing that I can think of that is negative about the hotel, They need to use a bleaching agent to get rid of the "after" effects of spilled food, or just the baked smell of food on the plates?! If you can fix this problem, this hotel would be top rated!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Shjacobsen,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your insights about our breakfast service, I have shared your comments with our team and we will do our best to improve our operation. I hope you will let us know how we are doing the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luverne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We came for a weekend get away with my husband, son and girlfriend. We arrived and were greeted with friendly staff. It was a busy checkin time and everyone was up beat and very helpful. Our room was a "bridge view" we had two queen beds, couch, chairs, desk, fridge, microwave and small deck facing the lift bridge. The beds were very comfortable. Bathroom had shower and toilet. The sink and mirror was on the outside of the bathroom, which worked nice for us as we had 4 people in our room. The breakfast in the morning was very good, make your own waffle with strawberries, whipped cream, syrup. Eggs, bacon or sausage, fruit, cereal, danishes, coffee, cappaccuino, milk and juices... could sit inside or outside facing Lake Superior. In the evening they had s'mores supplies available in the same area. Pick up your chocolate, grahman crackers and marshmallows, grab a stick and go outside and roast your marshmallows. The Inn is located right on Lake Superior in Canal Park. Canal Park has lots of shops and restaurants all within walking distance. It is located just a block or so from the Lift Bridge so you can very easily hear the bridge sound when a it will be going up and a large barge going through. There are bike, walking paths all along the hotel. We had a very pleasant experience. The cost was a little more than we would like, but after pricing other hotels in the area, this is what they cost. Why not pay an extra $ a night and be right on the Lake? We will stay here again when we visit Duluth.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear LaDonna V,

Thanks for posting your great review about our hotel. We're very happy you like us and what we do here, and that you'll be coming back to stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.