We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location, family friendly!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value, great location, family friendly!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I absoulety enjoyed my stay here and was very pleased with the atmoshpere and staff. The location is great, breakfast very fullfilling, and kids loved the smores at night! This will definietly be my hotel of preference for future visits to Duluth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for posting your review and 5 star rating. Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you can count on us for a great stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    150
    45
    24
    12
See reviews for
264
213
11
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My first stay at the Inn was very memorable, indeed. I booked a king suite, paid over $200 for the night and ended up with a thread bare room that hadn't been refurbished. The room was filthy. Rings on the table, ring around the toilet. Couldn't see the bottom of the tub for the soap scum. Thread bare towels. Front desk staff could use an inservice on hospitality, give a new meaning to ice blondes. Kids running up and down the halls yelling at all hours. College kids partying outside throughout the night. If there is an upside, it's the continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed in the accommodations and service you received and offer my sincere apologies. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and when for some reason we fail, we are very concerned. I will use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation. If you would like to discuss this further and give us an opportunity to make amends, please contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com. I hope you will consider giving us a chance to regain your respect on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Another great stay at the Inn! The renovations looked so amazing. The smores at night were a great thing for my boyfriend and I, it makes a great starter for a romantic night, especially if you follow it with a dip in the pool on the roof under the stars! It was great walking distance from some great places, and had great views of the town no matter what window you looked at. Even the breakfast was upgraded from before, the food is great with great varieties to choose from.

If anyone needs a romantic get-a-way, girls weekend, or a fun night with the family, this is the best place to go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you your return visits and for making the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. I'm glad you like our new look and appreciate your kinds words. Its people like you who make our jobs keeping our hotels at the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great rennovations. Hotel staff is very friendly and will help you with whatever you need. The roof top pool is a bonus and was enjoyed by all in our group. The location couldn't be better; walking distance to fun shops and great restaurants. Beautiful views of Lake Superior. Lots to do any time of year. I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 10 years and highly recommend it. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: A room facing the lake is the best. If you want a bit more peace and quiet, ask to be away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks for making your very first TA review about you many stays with us. We want all provide all our guests with the best in service and accommodations and really appreciate your positive feedback and acknowledgement of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back and thanking you in person the next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had yet another great stay at the Inn on Lake Superior this weekend. We stayed on the ground level, lake-view double queen room with sofa sleeper. The room was very clean and worked great for our family of 4. We loved the waffles at breakfast, and enjoyed the smores in the evening. The kids had a great time in the pool. It would have been perfect if we had nicer weather, but it was still a great mini-vacation. The staff are so friendly and accommodating. They were smiling all the time - a clear sign that they enjoyed what they do and enjoy who they work for!

Room Tip: No on-site restaurant at the hotel - but plenty of dining options to choose from in Canal Park! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your many visits and kind words regarding our hotel and the amenities you enjoyed while staying here. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel was great! The staff was efficient and friendly. We had a lake view king room that was clean, spacious, and quiet. The location was perfect for a weekend of dining and entertainment. We were well within walking distance to several great locations and took a cab in the evening for a minimal cost. Overall, a great place to stay in Duluth!

Room Tip: The lake view king room was very spacious - third floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks for returning to stay with us and for posting your comments and 5 star rating. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A group of us decided to take a break from the cities and spend a weekend in Duluth at The Inn On Lake Superior. We had a room on the 3rd floor that had a stunning view of Lake Superior. The room was large and included a mini-fridge, microwave, and flat screen TV. It was very comfortable for the four of us and the beds were cozy and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the outdoor rooftop hot pool, it was the perfect way to unwind from a day of skiing. The Inn is also within walking distance to many of the restaurants and shops of Duluth. We walked to the Lake Avenue Cafe for dinner and were not disappointed! We also took advantage of their evening smore's bar...what a fabulous idea! The free buffet breakfast was wonderful and had a variety of things to choose from (hot or cold). We would definitely stay here again. It made winter seem very bearable!

Room Tip: Definitely request the 3rd floor and a room facing Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for making the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. Its people like you who make our jobs keeping our hotel at the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.