We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place I'll Stay in Duluth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Only Place I'll Stay in Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Another great stay at the Inn! The renovations looked so amazing. The smores at night were a great thing for my boyfriend and I, it makes a great starter for a romantic night, especially if you follow it with a dip in the pool on the roof under the stars! It was great walking distance from some great places, and had great views of the town no matter what window you looked at. Even the breakfast was upgraded from before, the food is great with great varieties to choose from.

If anyone needs a romantic get-a-way, girls weekend, or a fun night with the family, this is the best place to go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you your return visits and for making the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. I'm glad you like our new look and appreciate your kinds words. Its people like you who make our jobs keeping our hotels at the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    205
    68
    30
    17
See reviews for
400
298
18
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great rennovations. Hotel staff is very friendly and will help you with whatever you need. The roof top pool is a bonus and was enjoyed by all in our group. The location couldn't be better; walking distance to fun shops and great restaurants. Beautiful views of Lake Superior. Lots to do any time of year. I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 10 years and highly recommend it. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: A room facing the lake is the best. If you want a bit more peace and quiet, ask to be away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks for making your very first TA review about you many stays with us. We want all provide all our guests with the best in service and accommodations and really appreciate your positive feedback and acknowledgement of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back and thanking you in person the next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had yet another great stay at the Inn on Lake Superior this weekend. We stayed on the ground level, lake-view double queen room with sofa sleeper. The room was very clean and worked great for our family of 4. We loved the waffles at breakfast, and enjoyed the smores in the evening. The kids had a great time in the pool. It would have been perfect if we had nicer weather, but it was still a great mini-vacation. The staff are so friendly and accommodating. They were smiling all the time - a clear sign that they enjoyed what they do and enjoy who they work for!

Room Tip: No on-site restaurant at the hotel - but plenty of dining options to choose from in Canal Park! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your many visits and kind words regarding our hotel and the amenities you enjoyed while staying here. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel was great! The staff was efficient and friendly. We had a lake view king room that was clean, spacious, and quiet. The location was perfect for a weekend of dining and entertainment. We were well within walking distance to several great locations and took a cab in the evening for a minimal cost. Overall, a great place to stay in Duluth!

Room Tip: The lake view king room was very spacious - third floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks for returning to stay with us and for posting your comments and 5 star rating. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A group of us decided to take a break from the cities and spend a weekend in Duluth at The Inn On Lake Superior. We had a room on the 3rd floor that had a stunning view of Lake Superior. The room was large and included a mini-fridge, microwave, and flat screen TV. It was very comfortable for the four of us and the beds were cozy and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the outdoor rooftop hot pool, it was the perfect way to unwind from a day of skiing. The Inn is also within walking distance to many of the restaurants and shops of Duluth. We walked to the Lake Avenue Cafe for dinner and were not disappointed! We also took advantage of their evening smore's bar...what a fabulous idea! The free buffet breakfast was wonderful and had a variety of things to choose from (hot or cold). We would definitely stay here again. It made winter seem very bearable!

Room Tip: Definitely request the 3rd floor and a room facing Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for making the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. Its people like you who make our jobs keeping our hotel at the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had another great stay at the Inn. We stayed on the newly renovated 3rd floor and the rooms are very nicely done. Beds were very comfortable and the hotel was very quiet considering it was March Break for us Canadians. The rate was excellent too. They also renovated their breakfast area, which was very nice too - great use of space to make this area much larger and very clean. Lobby is nicely done too. Absolutely excellent location in the canal as easily within walking distance to restaurants and pubs. Gotta love "happy hour" when you can walk back! In discussion with the manager, they will be carrying on to the 2nd floor next. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you plan to stay here in the next few months, ask for a room on the 3rd floor - renovated area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post your comments and 5 star rating about your recent visit to our hotel. I'm glad you have returned to stay with us, and appreciate your kind words. We are pleased with the renovations, too, and look forward to hearing from you again the next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Room was actually ready when we got here (which was shocking) we've stayed here the last 4 years straight (not sure why) for the hockey tournament that is held here in Duluth every march. Walked into our room, strong chemical smell, not sure what but were smacked w it immediately upon entering. Have pool view room (am currently staying at this hotel as I'm writing this), doors slamming every 2 minutes, LOUD children and adults playing/drinking in the hallways, nobody enforcing any rules what so ever. This will most likely be our last stay, and I have another night left here ugh!!! Not worth the money, and I will be convincing my partner to talk to the person who reserves these blocks of rooms for this tournament to reserve elsewhere!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I am very sorry you were so unhappy during your recent stay with us and hope you will accept my sincere apologies. We value all guest feedback and I am glad you have taken the time to share your comments. I understand your frustration and disappointment, and will share your review with our team and use it in discussions and training to improve our operation so this does not recur, and to emphasize the need to make sure all our guests are happy while they are staying with us. I hope you will reconsider and give us another chance to regain your trust on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#5 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.