We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a bit too pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beaufort, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit too pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay at the inn. However, I was disappointed in a few things. The staff was not the friendliest, especially at the front desk. Yikes. Not good. The hotel was completely fully of hockey kids. With kids running in the halls through the evening, it doesn't make for a romantic getaway. There were also renovations taking shape and it was interesting having to navigate the hotel in this conditions. Walking through the renovations while they are using machinery was not pleasant. I wish they could have dropped their price quite a bit for those that were inconvenienced. Aside for these issues, the rooms were nice, the view was beautiful and the breakfast was quite large. I don't eat meat in the morning, but was surprised to see the lack of meat options. I am being ridiculously picky. They had a s'mores bar which was nice, it was about -15, so we huddled around the fire and it was an experience. Overall, fairly nice stay. Good sleep and a happy tummy!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
I'm sorry you were disappointed in us during your recent stay, and offer my sincere apologies. there is never any excuse for rude behavior by anyone on our team,and I will use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation. I understand how frustrating our remodeling can be at time, and hope you like the results when you visit us next time. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your trust the next time you are in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    134
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
235
175
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here with our hockey team over the holiday weekend. They were MORE than accommodating to all five teams and their families. Although there was construction going on, they made everything accessible for all of us. Definitely would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review of your recent visit with us. I'm glad you and your team were happy here, and hope you enjoyed your tournament, too. We look forward to serving you the next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savage
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

No worries here great place to stay, beds are very good, breakfast bar always neat and clean.Pool area neat and clean well kept. great staff. Good discounts from email communications. Evening fun with smores and hot chocolate. Overall this is our place of choice each time we visit Duluth Mn right on the point near good resturants. Good coffee

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thanks for staying with us again and sharing your comments. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a "no worries" stay and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Inn on Lake Superior numerous times over the years, and I recently found out that it is no longer pet-friendly. I am very sad to hear this as it was a perfect place to bring my Goldendoodle. I loved staying at the Inn and I will miss it very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I am sorry you are unhappy with our decision to no longer accept pets at the Inn, and offer my sincere apologies. This was not an easy decision, and we understand your disappointment. I hope you and your Goldendoodle will continue to enjoy Duluth, and that you will consider returning to stay with us if you are not traveling with your four legged furry family member.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Visited Duluth for a quick overnight. The Inn was getting ready to begin remodeling their common areas, but still offered the usual amenities of making s'mores over open flames outdoors, free coffee/hot chocolate and a fantastic breakfast buffet. The rooms are a little dated, but not horribly. The beds are a bit high, but are very comfy and have plenty of pillows. First floor rooms on the lakeside have a patio which allows you to easily reach the lakewalk and the upper floors have a nicely sized balcony. They even provide cheap binoculars for watching ships. The only negatives we encountered was that our room was a connecting room and noises seemed to travel through the doors more than through the walls and that the key cards we received didn't work in the lock and had to be reset.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for you many visits and candid comments. Besides completely re-doing our public areas this year, we will also continue our ongoing room renovation project, which we are also proud of. You can ask for one of these newly remodeled rooms, and if one is available, I hope you will let us know what you think the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We've been staying at the Inn since the first week it opened and have always appreciated the attractive, clean, and well-cared for rooms. Many extra touches are on offer, also: the s'mores (of course!), a well- maintained pool and sauna, a welcoming lobby, and a large common area with a great view of the lake. And our sons never miss the lovely rooftop pool, summer or winter. The rooms are spacious, and those with balconies overlooking the lake are vacation worthy in and of themselves. The staff is knowledgable and can answer any question you might have about activities in town, often offering a printout. And yes, the area is perfect for walking, either to restaurants/shops in Canal Park, or along the lakewalk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your long time support and nice review. I'm glad you like the growth and changes we have made over the years, and hope you will like our newest project, too, when it is complete later this spring. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a family get-together around the Holidays. We all stayed at The Inn. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and happy to help with anything we needed and the location has views of Lake Superior and the Pier that are to die for. We will definitely be staying here anytime we are headed to Duluth and Canal Park. We absolutley LOVED IT!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for making your very first TA review about your recent stay with us. There is a lot to do in Canal Park and our area, and we hope you will visit and explore some more here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.