We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here with our hockey team over the holiday weekend. They were MORE than accommodating to all five teams and their families. Although there was construction going on, they made everything accessible for all of us. Definitely would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review of your recent visit with us. I'm glad you and your team were happy here, and hope you enjoyed your tournament, too. We look forward to serving you the next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    151
    47
    26
    12
See reviews for
270
215
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
savage
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

No worries here great place to stay, beds are very good, breakfast bar always neat and clean.Pool area neat and clean well kept. great staff. Good discounts from email communications. Evening fun with smores and hot chocolate. Overall this is our place of choice each time we visit Duluth Mn right on the point near good resturants. Good coffee

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thanks for staying with us again and sharing your comments. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a "no worries" stay and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Inn on Lake Superior numerous times over the years, and I recently found out that it is no longer pet-friendly. I am very sad to hear this as it was a perfect place to bring my Goldendoodle. I loved staying at the Inn and I will miss it very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I am sorry you are unhappy with our decision to no longer accept pets at the Inn, and offer my sincere apologies. This was not an easy decision, and we understand your disappointment. I hope you and your Goldendoodle will continue to enjoy Duluth, and that you will consider returning to stay with us if you are not traveling with your four legged furry family member.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Visited Duluth for a quick overnight. The Inn was getting ready to begin remodeling their common areas, but still offered the usual amenities of making s'mores over open flames outdoors, free coffee/hot chocolate and a fantastic breakfast buffet. The rooms are a little dated, but not horribly. The beds are a bit high, but are very comfy and have plenty of pillows. First floor rooms on the lakeside have a patio which allows you to easily reach the lakewalk and the upper floors have a nicely sized balcony. They even provide cheap binoculars for watching ships. The only negatives we encountered was that our room was a connecting room and noises seemed to travel through the doors more than through the walls and that the key cards we received didn't work in the lock and had to be reset.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for you many visits and candid comments. Besides completely re-doing our public areas this year, we will also continue our ongoing room renovation project, which we are also proud of. You can ask for one of these newly remodeled rooms, and if one is available, I hope you will let us know what you think the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We've been staying at the Inn since the first week it opened and have always appreciated the attractive, clean, and well-cared for rooms. Many extra touches are on offer, also: the s'mores (of course!), a well- maintained pool and sauna, a welcoming lobby, and a large common area with a great view of the lake. And our sons never miss the lovely rooftop pool, summer or winter. The rooms are spacious, and those with balconies overlooking the lake are vacation worthy in and of themselves. The staff is knowledgable and can answer any question you might have about activities in town, often offering a printout. And yes, the area is perfect for walking, either to restaurants/shops in Canal Park, or along the lakewalk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your long time support and nice review. I'm glad you like the growth and changes we have made over the years, and hope you will like our newest project, too, when it is complete later this spring. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a family get-together around the Holidays. We all stayed at The Inn. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and happy to help with anything we needed and the location has views of Lake Superior and the Pier that are to die for. We will definitely be staying here anytime we are headed to Duluth and Canal Park. We absolutley LOVED IT!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for making your very first TA review about your recent stay with us. There is a lot to do in Canal Park and our area, and we hope you will visit and explore some more here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in early Winter and had an amazing time. We took advantage of the proximity to Duluth's newest microbrew, Canal Park Brewery, had an awesome dinner in Canal Park and then headed to Bentleyville on foot. Afterwards, we hopped into the heated rooftop pool and relaxed before climbing into our super comfy bed. Location plays a big role in why The Inn on Lake Superior is so awesome... the views cannot be beat. But, that aside, there's a lot of other things that make it a great hotel. First, customer service is two thumbs up. They are friendly when you arrive, are familiar with the area in an authentic way, and go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant. There's plenty of parking. There is a clear effort to be green, which is nice for a hotel. And, I'm not just talking, reuse your towels. I'm talking silverware and real plates at the free breakfast versus styrofoam and plastic. Recycling bins everywhere, including your room. And so on. Finally, on the note of breakfast, delicious! Some folks call stale donuts a continental breakfast. And, the fact that there isn't a restaurant means doing a full-blown breakfast buffet is something that is somewhat of an inconvenience for them. But, they deliver. Amazing food. Diverse menu options from healthy to well sausage and bacon. Real food, real juice, quality coffee. Good stuff... My only complaint, and this is minor, but given Duluth is a hockey town and we were there in winter, many of the guests are well let's just say they have an overzealous approach to life. At times, jarring. A bit obnoxious, in a well-behaved way. We've stayed there maybe 4-times during the winter and every time it has been packed with hockey boys. I can understand why but if you're going for romance, be aware of this.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra to get a lakeview versus cityview. It really is a gorgeous location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your many visits and thorough review of your experiences here. Hockey is big in Duluth, and teams do stay with us frequently. If your plans are flexible, mention this to the reservation agent, and they can tell you when we will have teams in house, and when we don't have any teams already booked. We want all our guests to enjoy themselves, and hope you will continue to let us know how we are doing on your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.