We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn: A Destination In Itself.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Paul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Inn: A Destination In Itself.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We've been staying at the Inn since the first week it opened and have always appreciated the attractive, clean, and well-cared for rooms. Many extra touches are on offer, also: the s'mores (of course!), a well- maintained pool and sauna, a welcoming lobby, and a large common area with a great view of the lake. And our sons never miss the lovely rooftop pool, summer or winter. The rooms are spacious, and those with balconies overlooking the lake are vacation worthy in and of themselves. The staff is knowledgable and can answer any question you might have about activities in town, often offering a printout. And yes, the area is perfect for walking, either to restaurants/shops in Canal Park, or along the lakewalk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your long time support and nice review. I'm glad you like the growth and changes we have made over the years, and hope you will like our newest project, too, when it is complete later this spring. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    137
    40
    21
    12
See reviews for
240
183
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a family get-together around the Holidays. We all stayed at The Inn. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and happy to help with anything we needed and the location has views of Lake Superior and the Pier that are to die for. We will definitely be staying here anytime we are headed to Duluth and Canal Park. We absolutley LOVED IT!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for making your very first TA review about your recent stay with us. There is a lot to do in Canal Park and our area, and we hope you will visit and explore some more here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in early Winter and had an amazing time. We took advantage of the proximity to Duluth's newest microbrew, Canal Park Brewery, had an awesome dinner in Canal Park and then headed to Bentleyville on foot. Afterwards, we hopped into the heated rooftop pool and relaxed before climbing into our super comfy bed. Location plays a big role in why The Inn on Lake Superior is so awesome... the views cannot be beat. But, that aside, there's a lot of other things that make it a great hotel. First, customer service is two thumbs up. They are friendly when you arrive, are familiar with the area in an authentic way, and go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant. There's plenty of parking. There is a clear effort to be green, which is nice for a hotel. And, I'm not just talking, reuse your towels. I'm talking silverware and real plates at the free breakfast versus styrofoam and plastic. Recycling bins everywhere, including your room. And so on. Finally, on the note of breakfast, delicious! Some folks call stale donuts a continental breakfast. And, the fact that there isn't a restaurant means doing a full-blown breakfast buffet is something that is somewhat of an inconvenience for them. But, they deliver. Amazing food. Diverse menu options from healthy to well sausage and bacon. Real food, real juice, quality coffee. Good stuff... My only complaint, and this is minor, but given Duluth is a hockey town and we were there in winter, many of the guests are well let's just say they have an overzealous approach to life. At times, jarring. A bit obnoxious, in a well-behaved way. We've stayed there maybe 4-times during the winter and every time it has been packed with hockey boys. I can understand why but if you're going for romance, be aware of this.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra to get a lakeview versus cityview. It really is a gorgeous location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your many visits and thorough review of your experiences here. Hockey is big in Duluth, and teams do stay with us frequently. If your plans are flexible, mention this to the reservation agent, and they can tell you when we will have teams in house, and when we don't have any teams already booked. We want all our guests to enjoy themselves, and hope you will continue to let us know how we are doing on your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed many times at this hotel, very happy with it. Great location, good breakfast! Walking distance to bars and restaurants. Nice pool area if you are traveling with kids. In the summer we enjoy s'mores outside by the lake. Breakfast has many options and is well stocked, we enjoy the waffles.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your many visits and for taking the time to share your comments. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a great time, and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakapeee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The staff was very nice on Christmas.Are room was very very clean. It might not be the newest hotel but it is great!!!!!They have s'mores at night, a hot tub on the roof that is open all year long!!!They have boat rides on the lake!GREAT STAY!!!!!

Room Tip: Get Lake side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for making your very first TA review about your great night here at the Inn. We are currently renovating our lobby and breakfast area, and will be remodeling guest rooms later this year. I hope you will let us know how you like our new look the next time you are our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Inn is a great hotel for your Duluth stay. It is right in the middle of great resturants & shops. The staff is always super friendly. The roof top pool is fun, Adult only hour is a must. Breakfast is one of the best for Hotels in Canal Park. Don't miss Smores on the patio over looking the lake. Many "nice" touches to make your stay extra special.

Room Tip: If not traveling with kids ask for a room away from the stairwells, kids run up and down quite allot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments. I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy yourself, and your kind words about our team mean a great deal to us. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We enjoyed the two bedroom lake-view suite. We parked our car and could walk to many excellent restaurants and shops. In the evening, we enjoyed the waterfront fire and cooking smores. Then, we headed to the top floor and used the outdoor hot tub. There is also a nice indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. My favorite part of our stay was the wonderful breakfast. Belgium waffles, make your own breakfast sundaes, fruit, breads and a hot entree. The beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and 5 star rating. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from and want all our guests to be happy they decided to stay with us. I hope you will let us serve you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.