We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great time, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed many times at this hotel, very happy with it. Great location, good breakfast! Walking distance to bars and restaurants. Nice pool area if you are traveling with kids. In the summer we enjoy s'mores outside by the lake. Breakfast has many options and is well stocked, we enjoy the waffles.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your many visits and for taking the time to share your comments. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a great time, and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    137
    40
    21
    12
See reviews for
243
190
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shakapeee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The staff was very nice on Christmas.Are room was very very clean. It might not be the newest hotel but it is great!!!!!They have s'mores at night, a hot tub on the roof that is open all year long!!!They have boat rides on the lake!GREAT STAY!!!!!

Room Tip: Get Lake side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for making your very first TA review about your great night here at the Inn. We are currently renovating our lobby and breakfast area, and will be remodeling guest rooms later this year. I hope you will let us know how you like our new look the next time you are our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Inn is a great hotel for your Duluth stay. It is right in the middle of great resturants & shops. The staff is always super friendly. The roof top pool is fun, Adult only hour is a must. Breakfast is one of the best for Hotels in Canal Park. Don't miss Smores on the patio over looking the lake. Many "nice" touches to make your stay extra special.

Room Tip: If not traveling with kids ask for a room away from the stairwells, kids run up and down quite allot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments. I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy yourself, and your kind words about our team mean a great deal to us. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We enjoyed the two bedroom lake-view suite. We parked our car and could walk to many excellent restaurants and shops. In the evening, we enjoyed the waterfront fire and cooking smores. Then, we headed to the top floor and used the outdoor hot tub. There is also a nice indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. My favorite part of our stay was the wonderful breakfast. Belgium waffles, make your own breakfast sundaes, fruit, breads and a hot entree. The beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and 5 star rating. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from and want all our guests to be happy they decided to stay with us. I hope you will let us serve you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have gone to this hotel for a number of years to celebrate our December anniversary. We let our kids come, too. Without exception, the Inn on Lake Superior has been a great experience every time. The staff are very helpful and accommodating, the breakfast is great with lots of variety to choose from, and we really enjoy the pools and hot tubs. We also like the free shuttle to Bentleyville and the late night S'mores. If we happen to get a lakeside room, we love watching the ships going in and out. In the off-season, the price is much lower than peak times, and the value you get for the price is outstanding.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, get a room away from the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for including us in your anniversary celebrations, and for sharing your comments here. I'm glad you and your family find value here, and are able to count on us for a relaxing and enjoyable visit. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarona, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband & I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. The staff is friendly and helpful. They have a wonderful breakfast buffet (complimentary) that is more than just bagels & orange juice. There's a roof-top pool along with an indoor pool & hot tub. The views are awesome and it has a great location in Canal Park. We can park our car - walk around - have drinks & dinner and never have to drive anywhere if we don't want to. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. We stayed this time because they have a shuttle to Bentleyville. In the evening they have complimentary s'mores that you can make. This hotel is a great place to stay in both summer and winter.

Room Tip: we've stayed in rooms that had a city view, bridge view and Lake Superior view. My favorite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and rating about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your loyalty and kind words, and hope you will continue to let us know how we can make you happy each time you are our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Friendly staff. Comftorable room. Nice perks like s'mores and shuttle for Bentleyville. Outdoor pool was awesome, even in cold weather. Indoor pool and hot tub nice too. Good Night sleep. Quiet rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and nice review. I'm glad you were happy with the accommodations and services we provide, and hope you will let us be your favorite hotel in Duluth the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.