We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This past week we stopped at the Inn on the Lake to overnight before driving back to St. Paul.
The location is in the popular Canal Park area, right on Lake Superior and walking distance to the restaurants and shops.
The front desk person was friendly and helpful even though she was the only one handling walk ins and the phone. She gave us options of the specials and was very patient as we decided.
The Inn always has fresh coffee and offers S'mores over a fire every night. These are nice extras that make staying there worthwhile.
Breakfast was good and offered some options.
The pool area is handy and clean. My child spent a good deal of time swimming and we read during that time.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony over Lake Superior especially during shipping season. Its fun to watch the ships c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We really appreciate your loyalty and recommendations, and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    141
    41
    22
    12
See reviews for
251
201
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otsego, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Inn is down in Canal Park area which is convenient to lots of touristy shops, bars and places to eat. Most you can walk to although one of my favorite spots is Fitgers and we did drive to that. It is a bit like Cancun where hotels are stacked up all along the beach (not quite the Tropical temps ) and there are plenty of pets running up and down the boardwalk as well so if you are looking for a bit of privacy to enjoy Lake Superior this may not be the best choice. As I said it is kid and dog friendly. They have an indoor pool, one on the roof top and smores by the fire each night facing the lake. They also have a decent work out area on the second level.
Breakfast was quite crowded with the make them yourself waffles being the most popular. A good selection for kids of cereal and bagels as well as yogurt and donuts. In your room we had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker so great to bring a tray back and sit on your balcony if the temperature allows. It stays 10 degrees cooler off the lake so even if it says 51 it was chilly and foggy.
Beds were comfortable enough but made creaking noises when you moved about. No noise issues even though the hotel was at capacity. We were there for a hockey event so nice and close to Amsoil arena and again very nice to walk to most places.

Room Tip: Facing the lake for great views and people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay here. I love the Cancun comparison, and the fact that temps are not always tropical in Duluth. I'm glad you were happy with your choice to stay with us and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our great experience started when I called for reservations. Olivia was very pleasant and very helpful. Our room was excellent. It was a king bed with a sofa pullout with a lake view. It was on the 1st floor at the very end of the Inn. Our view of the lake was great, even on the 1st floor. Our room had 4, yes 4, large windows and 2 large flat screen televisions. The room was very clean. I was surprised how quiet our room was - I heard NOTHING except occasional outside voices during daylight hours, no neighbor or hallway sound at all.

The bathroom and counter/sink area separated the bed area from the living area. The free bath products/soap smelled wonderful. As we were checking for belongings when we were leaving, I opened the fridge (which we didn't use) and saw pop and water!

The breakfast area was quiet when we got coffee to take back to our room to watch the sunrise from our private patio. AWESOME. The weather was fabulous 3/9 & 3/10. The breakfast was very good, so many choices. We are already planning another trip and will certainly stay at the Inn. Next time we would like to try the 3rd floor to compare. Totally A+ from start to finish.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent visit and very nice review and recommendation. It makes us feel very special to know that we are the reason for your very first review on TripAdvisor. Olivia is terrific, and inspires all of us to do our best every day - I will make sure she gets the positive recognition she deserves for being mentioned here by you. Since Northfiled isn't too far from Duluth, I hope you will make the trip and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Inn on the Lake lived up to it's billing...the staff are most helpful...breakfast was better than most..very dog friendly...lots of dining and shopping near by...lovely location on the shipping canal.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thanks so much for adding your comments and rating to our listing. Edmondton is a beautiful city, and we hope you have safe travels between here and there. Please let us know when you will be our guest again so we can welcome you back in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Overall was nice. Nice rooms. Nice service. Nice breakfast. Enjoyed the evening smores and the pool on the roof (even though it was only 15 above). Our first room was poolside and the chlorine was too strong, but they were very accomodating and let us change rooms. Our room was hot and the heater was loud, woke me a few times during the night. We had a coupon for 79/night that they wouldn't honor and we don't understand why as when we booked the room we told them we had the coupon. Was 84/night and with a line behind us we let it go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
I am very sorry for the confusion about your coupon, and will try to make it right if you will contact us privately. Thank you for your visit and nice review. I apologize for the noisy heater, and am glad you were able to enjoy the roof top pool and other amenities during your visit. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your loyalty the next time you are in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Staying at the Inn on Lake Superior is a piece of heaven. There is quiet and a place to read. There are lots of places to shop to enjoy the work of artists. The Lakewalk along Lake Superior heals every part of your body - inside and out - and helps to shield you from the world. It starts with the great breakfast of waffles and a myriad of other choices. The walk to the pier and the bridge brings you into a world filled with the fantasy of world travel. Then, when you are hungry, just walk to one of the many fine restaurants around - especially Va Bene' in their solarium - as you eat on the shore of the lake. Want romance? Bring your spouse and be romanced. The Inn is a home away from home created by their wonderful staff, their service, and S'mores at 8! Eat the popcorn from the business in the lot in the summer months. Bring your kids and grandkids and climb on the rocks!

Room Tip: Lower level connects you with the Lake immediately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review and rating. We agree that Lake Superior has many powers and can be enjoyed and experienced in many ways in every season. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Our family had a US vacation last May 2011 and one of our tourist destination is the serene, poetic, rustic place of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN. We stayed here for a weekend and it was a nice experience for all of us. The room and bathroom is big and clean with fresh linens and complete toiletries. Our kids love the breakfast buffet and the bonfire with s'mores at night. Since we went there on a Spring, the weather was perfect for us - not too cold, since we came from a tropical country :). The walking/jogging path leading to the Maritime Museum and the Aerial Lift Bridge is nicely done with bits and pieces of historic pieces installed with its historical background. Nearby is the famous Grandma's Restaurant. Walking distance is the William Irvin Ore Boat Museum. They have a souvenir shop inside as well. It was a pleasant experience for tourist like us.

Room Tip: Take the room that has access facing the lake. The view is breathtaking specially on a sunrise or su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
I am so glad you included Duluth and our hotel in your US vacation last year, thank you for choosing us and for posting your comments. It's about 35 degrees F above zero here today, and we think it is almost tropical for this time of year here! I guess everything is relative. I hope you and your family created and share many fond memories of your visit to the States, and will be able to return again and to have many more wonderful experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.