We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Thai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sala Thai
4023 Woodland Avenue, Duluth, MN 55803
(218)728-4822
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 226 restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Recently had a wonderful time dining at Sala Thai. The server was friendly and attentive, and the food and wine delightful. Everything was fresh and tasty. We had the spring rolls, chicken massaman, and fried rice. We look forward to returning for lunch or dinner soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    8
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Thai buffet at lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Buffet at lunch can be good but often entrees are sparse and not refilled fast, and I'd you get there after12:45 be prepared to have slim picking on the buffet-- and pay the same price!!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thai Food by experts, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This neighborhood restaurant is not what you would expect. It is authentic Thai food. The Thai Spring rolls are excellent. I would personally recommend the following dishes: beef massaman, or chicken massaman if you prefer, beef red or green curry, vegetable curry, and the beef lard is out of this world. the Pad Thai is the best I've had outside of the Twin Cities. If you go, be sure to ask if they making the mango pudding because it is excellent. The prices are moderate, the wine list, although is small but acceptable, as is the beer list. The Sala Thai is really the best Thai restaurant in Duluth. It takes a little time and effort to find but it is nice to be away from the HUSTLE & BUSTLE of the Canal Park area. Sala Thai is a very calming experience!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food served with individual care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have been to this restaurant several times. Food is well prepared and tasty and the owner does her best to please every customer. Small but comfortable and nicely decorated. Prices are reasonable too. A bit out of the way for some tourists but well worth seeking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sala Thai Wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

What a gem this little Thai restaurant is. The lunch buffet is a delight. Not soggy as most buffets are but fresh and crisp ingrediants cooked in small amounts keeps the buffet a delight.
We have ordered off the menu in the past and never been disappointed. Every thing including the vegetables are fresh. I would highly recomment this restaurant. The spices aren't too hot either.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sala Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.