We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai Food by experts, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Thai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sala Thai
4023 Woodland Avenue, Duluth, MN 55803
(218)728-4822
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 230 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thai Food by experts, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This neighborhood restaurant is not what you would expect. It is authentic Thai food. The Thai Spring rolls are excellent. I would personally recommend the following dishes: beef massaman, or chicken massaman if you prefer, beef red or green curry, vegetable curry, and the beef lard is out of this world. the Pad Thai is the best I've had outside of the Twin Cities. If you go, be sure to ask if they making the mango pudding because it is excellent. The prices are moderate, the wine list, although is small but acceptable, as is the beer list. The Sala Thai is really the best Thai restaurant in Duluth. It takes a little time and effort to find but it is nice to be away from the HUSTLE & BUSTLE of the Canal Park area. Sala Thai is a very calming experience!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food served with individual care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have been to this restaurant several times. Food is well prepared and tasty and the owner does her best to please every customer. Small but comfortable and nicely decorated. Prices are reasonable too. A bit out of the way for some tourists but well worth seeking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sala Thai Wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

What a gem this little Thai restaurant is. The lunch buffet is a delight. Not soggy as most buffets are but fresh and crisp ingrediants cooked in small amounts keeps the buffet a delight.
We have ordered off the menu in the past and never been disappointed. Every thing including the vegetables are fresh. I would highly recomment this restaurant. The spices aren't too hot either.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Small portions, overpriced, bland.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

$45 spent on takeout for three people (not especially big eaters), and we barely had enough to satisfy ourselves. What we did have was mediocre and almost completely lacking in distinctive Thai flavors and heat. At the prices Sala Thai charges, it would almost be more cost-effective to drive 150 miles to St. Paul for decent Thai.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went to the lunch buffet and found the food to be wonderfully fresh and affordable. The owner was very attentive to each and every customer. The buffet selection was varied and flavorful. I enjoyed being able to eat good food & visit in a relaxing atmosphere with a special friend. this place is truely a gem!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Thai also viewed

 

Been to Sala Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.