We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Fun Decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tycoons

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tycoons
132 East Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802
(218) 623-1889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 225 restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food and Fun Decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to Tycoons on Sunday at 12:30pm for lunch. There was only two other people in the restaurant with us, so it must not be a popular Sunday morning spot. The food was pretty good, but it seemed to take a long time to get it considering we were one of the only ones there. I heard they recently got a new menu. The menu seemed fun and well themed to the Duluth area with names like Jay Cooke Cobb Salad. The server was very friendly and the decor was great! I loved the old-time feel and the historic photographs throughout the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    26
    33
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A gem hidden away from Canal Park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We came here on a recommendation of a friend was were not disappointed. The decor is amazing and the history behind the building is so interesting. The Rathskeller downstairs is a MUST see (it opens at 5:00 pm). It is down where the jail cells used to be and is really cool!! We both had the bone in ribeye steak which was excellent and large enough to take home leftovers. Vegies were good and the blueberry bread pudding for dessert was out of this world. They have a good choice of "craft" beer but their wine list needs improvement. Service was very attentive and showed a real interest in our satisfaction. The neighborhood here is not the greatest and the only other reason to be in the area is the casino (which we did not go to), but Tycoon's is a destination and I definitely suggest you take the time to visit. Parking is right across the street in a parking garage.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Food & Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had dinner and drinks and it was all great. So good that we came back and ordered take out the next night. The night we ate in-house we started out with the fried pickles and Mac & Cheese - the Mac & cheese was awesome, pickles were good. Everyone in our party had a different salad and they were all fabulous. They did forget our pita bread with our take out salads the next night which was a bummer since it's really good. We will be back and want to check out the bar next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Cool place - great history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First off - iPhone GPS led us to the wrong place address. We had been at the casino, in public parking, paid and left, drove around and finally called them. Ended up back in the same public parking we had just left! Tycoons is right across the street from the casino. Tycoons is a neat place. It used to be the city hall. There is even a bar in the basement that was the jail. Interesting history. Classy little joint. We had the famous mac& chees - really good. A little on the pricey side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Find in Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

WOW!! The best valued meal we have had in a long time. Food and prices were great. My husband and I split the chicken artichoke dinner and there was plenty for two. We shared the deviled egg appetizer- great flavors. We split the blueberry bread pudding - terrific. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tycoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tycoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.