We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #11 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Stayed two nights and enjoyed the amenities-Spirit Mountain view was nice and trains passing occasionally werent a big deal, in fact, our son enjoyed it. Only downside was uncomfortable sleeper sofa, but that's always hit and miss anyway. Workout room was small and the treadmill could stand updating, but that and the eliptical were functional so that's what matters. Breakfast was nice and had adequate choices.
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful at check-in. Would recommend if you want a nice place at a fair price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    39
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
49
31
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
's-Gravenzande
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010 via mobile

After checking in we went to our rooms and found out that one wasn't made yet. We called and within 5 minutes they gave us 2 new rooms. Our room was OK but the other had some minor things like a missing light bulb and the sink hardly drained. But we all had a good night's sleep and that is why we came. Breakfast in the lobby due to renovation of the breakfast room.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISDuluth, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. Our renovations are now complete. Our breakfast room is now better then ever and we have added some new things to our menu.

We hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich
Assistant Manager
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South
218-628-0668
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

The hotel was what we expected--clean, in a good location, and with good service. However, the pool was very cold and hot tub was lukewarm at best. The desk manager said she was unable to adjust the temp--no wonder no one was using the beautiful pool area. The fan in our bathroom did not work, which eventually led to the steam from our shower setting off the smoke alarm in the room. I learned that the hotel manager had been aware of this situation, and hadn't yet fixed it. Could have been dangerous, and that room probably should not have been used.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISDuluth, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
We would like to take the time to apologize for the inconvenience of the maintenance issues you've experienced at this location. We have immediately implemented methods to ensure that there are no further instances with the heating of our pool area. The problem you experienced with the fan in your was a mechanical issue that we were working on during the time of your stay and have since fixed.
We appreciate the feedback and hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Deanna Fontaine
Assistant Manager
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South
218-628-0668
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

This is a nice hotel in a wonderful location. However, this hotel may have had some water damage recently. Our room had a faint smell of carpet that had been dried out. In addition, the rooms that should be used for breakfast were closed up and breakfast was in a small area in the lobby. Most people had to take their food back to their rooms as there was no room to eat. I felt that this hotel was overpriced considering this water problem. I would not recommend this hotel until the problem is solved

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISDuluth, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. Thankfully the work that was being done to our hotel due to the water damage we incountered is now complete.

We appreciate the feedback and hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich
Assistant Manager
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South
218-628-0668
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

This is a solid choice if you're looking for a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced hotel and the Canal Park area isn't an option. The hotel is located at the same exit as the overlook/tourist info station on Hwy 35 - about 10 minutes to Canal Park with the road construction.

This is an average chain hotel but the customer service is quite good. The front desk people were friendly and quick at check-in and check-out. All of the staff I passed in the halls and elevator were friendly and said hello.

The fridge and microwave in the room were nice.

I rated the sleep quality low because the beds were too hard for us, but that's just personal preference. The room was quiet except for one night when we had the window open and heard a lot of traffic noise. With the window shut, though, it wasn't noticeable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, Nebraska
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

If you can get past the quirky country styling (somehow I think some can't) this was a nice place. Fairly comfortable room, quiet, and though it didn't matter, it was nice it was away from Duluth.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Hotel was nice and clean. Breakfasts in this chain I don't like but nothing against this property in particular.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Address: 9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#13 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth South
Country Inn Proctor
Proctor Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.