We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Twin Cities, MN
2 reviews
“Clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

This is the second time we've stayed at this particular Country Inn. It's nice and close to downtown Duluth, but still far enough away that it's quieter. Rooms are spacious and very clean - we received a free upgrade to a suite, which was ideal with young kids.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    53
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
69
47
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

My husband and I were in Duluth for a conference and needed a place to stay overnight. The hotel staff is very friendly and the room was very comfortable and clean. We were just here overnight, but would recommend the hotel to others, and would likely choose to stay again. The hotel is easy to get to (just off interstate 35) and a short drive to downtown Duluth.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

I knew I might end up staying a night in Duluth, so I'd done quick internet research on the Duluth South Country Inn price, just in case. Once I was there, I saw another Country Inn closer to my location on Miller Hill, so I went in to find out if they had a room available. I was very surprised to hear them quote a price close to double that of the Proctor/Duluth Country Inn. The guy at the desk said it was because his was a newer property. Not so new that I decided it was worth twice as much. The original Duluth Country Inn is a lovely, well-maintained, quiet property. Unless you have a reason to be in the thick of the busy shopping area, and you don't mind paying an inflated price to be there, I'd recommend going to this Country Inn instead.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

This hotel is nowhere near the heart of Duluth. Unless you are skiing, it is essentially by nothing--on the periphery of the city. All of the action in Duluth is much closer to the center of town.

So why do I like this one? It really is my favorite place to stay here. Prices, except for marathon weekends, are fairly reasonable. It is super clean. The suite rooms are nicely sized for a family group. It is extremely accessible from the freeway, and parking is free, easy and safe. There is a gas station, convenience store, and fast food within walking distance, very helpful if you are there with kids.

The drive into the center of the city where the action is takes about 5 minutes and is very easy, at least until you get to Canal Park. And all you have to do is try to park near Canal Park to appreciate that staying in the center of town has its problems. We like to enjoy the bustle of the Canal Park area...and then leave it behind.

The train is a little freaky. The tracks are right behind the hotel and when the ore train comes through, it can be kind of a shocker--light, sound, movement, and then it is quickly over. However, we have stayed 6 nights here over the years and we have only heard the train twice. I don't think it is much of an issue.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

I stayed at this property for 3 nights and was impressed with the cleanliness throughout. Our room was well maintained, as was the pool, exercise room and breakfast area. The staff were very pleasant and personable. The beds were comfortable and there was a coffee maker in the room, with fresh coffee replenished each day. This hotel is located right off Highway 35 and there is a McDonald's next door. There is a computer in the lobby with free internet access for guests. Free breakfast was included with the room, which consisted of waffles, biscuits and gravy (on the weekends), cereal, fruit, yogurt, toast, bagels, english muffins, coffee, and juice. I have never stayed at a Country Inn and Suites, and was pleasantly surprised with the comfort and friendly staff at this location.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2006

I was concerned when I pulled up, train tracks in the back, busy highway in the front, but had an absolutely peaceful stay. We opted for the back and did not hear any trains. Great lobby, friendly staff, free internet access. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2004

We have stayed at this location, Duluth Mn, many times. They have gone out of their way to make certain the accomodations are what we need and want. The staff has been most helpful, and only on one occasion did we not get a response. A burnt out light bulb was not replaced. No big deal. The breakfast room is always stocked, and the employees working in the morning are friendly, and more than willing to help you. We keep going back to stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Address: 9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#11 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth South
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Proctor
Proctor Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.