We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #11 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We came on business and ended up in a snow storm so spent extra time in the hotel. It was a nice experience. The staff is very friendly and seem to go out of their way to meet our needs. Breakfast had a lot of variety. The pool was a perfect temperature for exercising. The internet worked well and was free! And the mattress was perfect! This would be a good place to bring kids as the staff is so accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our Pool Area. The Head of our Maintenance Department takes great pride in his work. I will be sharing your compliments with him.

On behalf of the entire team, thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    46
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
60
36
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

So this is my second stay in 2 months. The first time I was unaware of any train tracks, middle of the night, woo woo! The second stay, I requested to be on the highway side (rather than the train tracks) and I was told there was no other rooms available, even though I requested the non-train side in my reservation.
As another reviewer mentioned, lots of active kids, I was on the second floor and kids were on the third running back and forth. I called the front desk, I was told that they would investigate, 15 minutes later of a track meet being held above me, I went up to find 6 kids running up and down the halls. No parents, no hotel staff... Laying in bed, you can hear every toilet flush, every sink with water gurgling down the pipes... Stay away, stay far away, there are much better hotels that actually paid for insulation, double pane windows, etc...
Never again, I guess this is why this was the only hotel still open when the rest of Duluth was sold-out...

Room Tip: Don't book a room on the train side, don't book a 1st or 2nd floor room as there is no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear MAJ66,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay at the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. We will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for our guests in the future.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. As demonstrated by other reviews, this is not a typical experience for our guests. It is not often that we get a group that causes a disturbance for our other guests. It was recorded by our team that they did speak with this group and I apologize that this did not resolve the issue in this case. From my experience and feedback from frequent travelers that stay at our property, our rooms are typically no less quiet than other hotels, and a boisterous group is a rarity. As for the trains, I have contacted CN Railroad and they will look into the horn noise, but have assured me that the trains only sound for road crossings and emergencies. Since there are no crossings within 2 miles of the hotel, there should not be any train whistles nearby unless there is an emergency.

Thanks again for your comments. We are committed to do everything we can to ensure a restful and enjoyable stay for all our guests and will take proactive measures to prevent any disturbances.

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had problems with the hotel across the street at 11:00 at night and Best Western was great and had a room for us that was 1.32 cheaper. It was cleaner, very friendly staff, great breakfast. We were in Duluth for my daughter's 13th Birthday. The next time that I'm in Duluth, I would stay at this hotel again. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. You are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nice clean hotel but lots of active kids. We had a surprisingly good nights rest though. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff seemed nice. The breakfast bar staff could not keep up with the crowd. The tables were not clean and the floor was full of food crumbs. We would have liked to try the hot tub but didn't' feel like hanging with all the kids.

Room Tip: Lots of extra space in the king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for comments on your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements in our breakfast area to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. We had a king suite on the top floor. The view was good and the location was very good for skiing at Spirit Mountain and Magney-Snively trails. The hotel was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the staff was friendly. Pool temperature was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. Our King Suite rooms look out over Spirit Mountain, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the room and the wonderful view. On your next stay please make sure to mention how much you enjoyed your room and we would be more then happy to provide you with the same room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last night after visiting relatives in the area. The staff that greeted us were very friendly and helpful. The room was a nice surprise. There was a sitting area with at TV and a TV in the bedroom area. The bed was a King Size and very comfortable. The room was very clean. There was a coffee maker in the room. This was a plus. The free breakfast was very nice. Waffles, cereal, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, fruit, yogurt, pastries and toast. I would stay here again. Great value for the cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience you had with us at the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain duluth. We strive to provide our guests with a clean comfortable getaway that exceeds expectations.

I hope you come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Got stranded due to weather, very reasonable prices, clean rooms, pool and hot tub were awesome. Location is just outside Duluth towards Minneapolis.

We were very fortunate as the other option in Spirit Mountain is not nearly as nice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Greg,

I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed you recent stay with us. We know how frustrating winter weather can and are happy to hear we were able to make your extended time here in Duluth comfortable. We hope that we will be your hotel of choice the next time your travels take you to the Duluth area.

Deanna Gregorich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Address: 9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#11 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth South
Country Inn Proctor
Proctor Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.