We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of kids, sloppy breakfast bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lots of kids, sloppy breakfast bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nice clean hotel but lots of active kids. We had a surprisingly good nights rest though. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff seemed nice. The breakfast bar staff could not keep up with the crowd. The tables were not clean and the floor was full of food crumbs. We would have liked to try the hot tub but didn't' feel like hanging with all the kids.

Room Tip: Lots of extra space in the king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for comments on your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements in our breakfast area to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    47
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
63
39
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. We had a king suite on the top floor. The view was good and the location was very good for skiing at Spirit Mountain and Magney-Snively trails. The hotel was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the staff was friendly. Pool temperature was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. Our King Suite rooms look out over Spirit Mountain, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the room and the wonderful view. On your next stay please make sure to mention how much you enjoyed your room and we would be more then happy to provide you with the same room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last night after visiting relatives in the area. The staff that greeted us were very friendly and helpful. The room was a nice surprise. There was a sitting area with at TV and a TV in the bedroom area. The bed was a King Size and very comfortable. The room was very clean. There was a coffee maker in the room. This was a plus. The free breakfast was very nice. Waffles, cereal, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, fruit, yogurt, pastries and toast. I would stay here again. Great value for the cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience you had with us at the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain duluth. We strive to provide our guests with a clean comfortable getaway that exceeds expectations.

I hope you come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Got stranded due to weather, very reasonable prices, clean rooms, pool and hot tub were awesome. Location is just outside Duluth towards Minneapolis.

We were very fortunate as the other option in Spirit Mountain is not nearly as nice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Greg,

I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed you recent stay with us. We know how frustrating winter weather can and are happy to hear we were able to make your extended time here in Duluth comfortable. We hope that we will be your hotel of choice the next time your travels take you to the Duluth area.

Deanna Gregorich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by one of the most friendly employees you could wish for. She was the front desk manager and was able to place in the hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the hockey teams that were also staying at the hotel.
The hotel was clean and up to date.
The coffee and breakfast were good. The parking was a little tight due to the snowfall, but we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear MinnVacationer,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. The fact that you mentioned our Front Desks commitment to exceptional customer care means a lot to us! Our goal in every department of the hotel is to exceed our guests’ expectations. Thank you again for choosing the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth.

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunder bay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel was just renovated from another chain to Best Western. Great location right off highway with a nice view. The staff were great, the rooms were nice & lobby decor was welcoming. Enjoyed our first kid free getaway in five years and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a whirlpool room! Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. We are also very excited about becoming a Best Western Plus. Along with the areas you mentioned, we also added a New Fitness center and New Business center.

We hope to see you again on your next getaway!

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Best Western makes us feel like we're at home but a home away from home that is. They are always so friendly and nice. It's always so peaceful there and the rooms are always so comfortable and nice to be in. You almost don't even want to leave the hotel itself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Sheng T,

Thank you for your kind words. Our team strives to create a welcoming, comfortable and relaxing enviroment for each one of our guests. I am glad to hear that this was you experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Address: 9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#11 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth South
Country Inn Proctor
Proctor Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.