We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best western spirit mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
thunder bay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best western spirit mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel was just renovated from another chain to Best Western. Great location right off highway with a nice view. The staff were great, the rooms were nice & lobby decor was welcoming. Enjoyed our first kid free getaway in five years and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a whirlpool room! Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. We are also very excited about becoming a Best Western Plus. Along with the areas you mentioned, we also added a New Fitness center and New Business center.

We hope to see you again on your next getaway!

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    47
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
63
38
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkins, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Best Western makes us feel like we're at home but a home away from home that is. They are always so friendly and nice. It's always so peaceful there and the rooms are always so comfortable and nice to be in. You almost don't even want to leave the hotel itself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Sheng T,

Thank you for your kind words. Our team strives to create a welcoming, comfortable and relaxing enviroment for each one of our guests. I am glad to hear that this was you experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The entrance was under construction, but inside the hotel is nice. The room was spacious, clean. Even though the hotel is off highway 35, our room was facing the highway and I didn't hear a sound. Hot breakfast in the morning included. Can't go wrong staying at this Best Western.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review with Trip Advisor and appreciate your loyalty to our brand. The improvements on our front entrance are scheduled to be completed by Winter 2013. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 218-628-0668.

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights. The room was very comfortable and clean and provided all the required amenities. Free parking, free wifi and a complimentary hot breakfast was provided, and the reception and checkout were efficient and friendly. The recently rebranded hotel offered the level of quality I have come to expect from BWPlus. and I enjoyed my stay and can highly recommend the hotel.
I found my modern, spacious room to be very quiet and enjoyable but I must warn guests that sometimes a mid-night freight train passes nearby and can make the rooms shake......the noise didn't last for long, but it is loud.

Room Tip: Watch out for the midnight freight train! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you for your loyalty to the Best Western brand.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 218-628-0668.

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our first stay at this property. The value for this area is excellent, the same room in canal park would have cost 3 times as much yet it is only a few minutes away by freeway The room and overall facility were clean and the staff pleasant and helpful. The room was quiet and the bed comfortable. The only minor complaint was the breakfast area was pretty messy, but there were lots of families with young children, the staff seemed to be doing their best to keep up with the mess under the circumstances.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very excited to have joined the Best Western family. To make the transition we added and upgraded many of our amenities. It is wonderful to hear that we met your expectations. I will be speaking to our breakfast staff about your experience in our breakfast area. Your comments will help us to improve our quality of service in this area. We hope to see you again soon and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very nice hotel room! We have a big family so stayed in a king size suite. Had a pull out bed in the sitting area of room. We rented a roll out bed, and we slept in the king size bed. Just enough room to fit all in this suite! The room was so nice. Two large flat screen t.v.'s if you need them. We did enjoy the pool and hot tub immensely! Pool was perfect - perfect size and most importantly perfect temperature! Most hotel pools are freezing. Not this one. So nice to swim with the kids : ). The hot tub was what you'd expect - hot!!! Not luke warm, or warm - again perfect temperature!!
Staff was great at check in. Breakfast Saturday morning. Nice! They had a lot to choose from. Make your own waffles, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, cereal, bread, English muffins, bagels, mini muffins, all kinds of juices, biscuits, gravy, meat, and cooked eggs. One of my girls even asked if they had french toast sticks and they had them in the back and heated her up some! They weren't out with the vast array of selection. About as nice as a restaurant, but free with your stay! Can't ask for better! We booked under their grand reopening discount. We would definitely recommend and would stay again for future visits!

Management - If you read these, Thanks for the awesome time and comforts of home! Well done, and keep that pool and hot tub at perfect temperatures!!

Room Tip: King Suite - Large and roomy! Two television sets also!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Hall, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times and it seemed to be on a downhill slide. This visit was sort of a last minute decision and I was pleasantly surprised. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The wife and I got a nice King Suite at a very reasonable rate. The room was really nice and was very clean. The carpeting appeared to be quite new. The bed was comfortable. Everything in the room was in good repair. The breakfast room was nice and fairly large though the offerings were just average. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Address: 9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#11 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth South
Country Inn Proctor
Proctor Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;