We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the first night of our honeymoon. Check in was easy and quick. The lady at the desk was very professional. We stayed in the Master Suite, which was very clean and everything we used was in great working order. Jacuzzi tub was very clean, as was the room. Bed was comfortable. We got the room at an excellent discount because we stay at this chain often. Breakfast was good, typical hotel breakfast-- not complaining, it was free. The attendant was on top of everything and everything was very clean, which is not typical. Would definitely recommend and will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    52
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
67
47
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very nice stay. Small things that may not matter to everyone. Depending on why you are in Dukuth, you may find yourself somewhat isolated. A ways from town and no restaraunts except Macdonalds. The ac/heating fan was very loud. On the good side, comfortable beds, willing and able staff and large clean rooms and bath. Try to get a room at the back, since freeway noise can be a consideration. It wasn't too bad, however. I would stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the road. They also have a lovely view. The high floor ones are king rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Island, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked this hotel for our recent trip to Duluth, Minnesota to attend Superior Man (half-ironman). This hotel was just outside the city - easy to get to the venue, free parking, McDonald's right next door for an early morning breakfast (needed that because breakfast at the hotel did not open until 6 a.m.), pleasant accommodations and friendly staff. Within a couple of miles from the hotel is the Alpine Coaster, which is a must do if you stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel multiple times in the past, and I usually really like this hotel chain, but this stay was a little bit disappointing. The main reason is the breakfast quality - the "make-your-own" waffle station was fine but the overall breakfast offering is skimpy (mainly bread, bagels, mini-muffins, cereal) and the scrambled eggs were not good at all. They looked and tasted very artificial - my child put it pefectly: he said they tasted "powdery". And we could very easily hear noises in the next door room - we could hear their television, their cell phone beeping & ringing, and even their conversations. And we could hear their door slam every time they exited or entered their room. I don't recall having these issues during past visits to this hotel. But we were put in a room with a connecting door to the next room, so in fairness, maybe we just had never stayed in a connecting room before. If we stay here again, I'd be sure to ask for a "non-connecting" room so there's ample distance between us and the room next door. The staff, as usual, was friendly, the bed was comfortable, we liked having an in-room fridge, and the location is great - it's only about a ten minute drive to downtown/Canal Park where we spend most of our time when we visit Duluth. I just think this location needs to improve their breakfast quality and food selection.

Room Tip: I suggest a non-connecting room if you want privacy and you don't want to hear what's going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here with our family this past week and were quite disappointed. The room smelled like dirty feet and mildew. We though it was coming from our a/c unit, so we just turned it off. Then we heard every sound, freeway traffic noises, etc and our room got hot. So we turned it back on...smell came back the next day but we were gone all day so we didn't worry too much. The whole place felt run-down. Although the front desk staff were both super nice and very helpful (even looked up the weather forecast and one person even got bandaids for our daughter who fell and cut her knee.) Honestly, we didn't spend much time at the hotel, since we were out exploring and sight-seeing, but our time in the room was not great. The smell just gave us all a headache.

Also, we tried their complimentary breakfast each morning. The make your own waffles were a hit with the kids, but the scrambled eggs were really dry. One morning they had over easy eggs, which weren't bad. The oatmeal was good. The biscuits were fine, but the gravy was not. They had lots of juice choices, which everyone really liked. The space where breakfast was served was way too small and too many guests were cramped into the space...some ate in the lobby. The breakfast staff didn't seem happy or conversational. They seemed irritated.

Overall, not a great stay for us. Not likely we'll stay at this location again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We would like to thank you for posting feedback about your recent stay. With the help of reviews like this, we are able to go through operating measures with our hotels directly to ensure that future guests do not run in to the same problems.

We would like to sincerely apologize for your experience with the room you were issued. We appreciate this opportunity to check in with our Duluth location and fine tune our operations. We certainly hope to have you back with our brand on your next vacation so we may have an opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed only one night in Duluth but were very happy with our choice of hotel. The staff was extremely nice and really seemed to care about whether we were happy or not. The room was clean and our double queen (standard) room had a small fridge, microwave and coffee pot to go with the newer flat screen TV.

The coffee and cookies in the lobby were a nice touch, but my favorite was the breakfast. Sometimes a place offers "breakfast" but it is little more than coffee and a donut. This hotel had a hot breakfast (sausage, eggs, potatoes) plus oatmeal, waffles, fruit, plus all the cold breakfast options.

It isn't the Ritz, but we booked through Hotwire so the value we received was top notch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo City WI
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have stayed multiple times at counrtyinn chain hotels. The main reason is we know what we are getting. This one was a tad bit disappointing. The place seemed old. They did have friendly staff for sure. But the rooms just needed some updates. Looked tired to me. The bed was hard, but my preferrance is a soft bed. It was clean. We did have a whirlpool room, and the whirlpool was ok. I think the price was high, but it was close to Duluth Mn in the summer. All hotels are high in that area at that time of the year. My main gripe here is the doors to each room. The doors SLAM at an alarmingly loud sound. People do not know to gently hold the door till it closes, nor should they have to. This really was annoying to us. So much, that we probably wont come back. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Not sure what to tell you about the slamming doors. Not much you can do about that, but try to be co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Address: 9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#11 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth South
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Proctor
Proctor Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.