We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #12 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here with our family this past week and were quite disappointed. The room smelled like dirty feet and mildew. We though it was coming from our a/c unit, so we just turned it off. Then we heard every sound, freeway traffic noises, etc and our room got hot. So we turned it back on...smell came back the next day but we were gone all day so we didn't worry too much. The whole place felt run-down. Although the front desk staff were both super nice and very helpful (even looked up the weather forecast and one person even got bandaids for our daughter who fell and cut her knee.) Honestly, we didn't spend much time at the hotel, since we were out exploring and sight-seeing, but our time in the room was not great. The smell just gave us all a headache.

Also, we tried their complimentary breakfast each morning. The make your own waffles were a hit with the kids, but the scrambled eggs were really dry. One morning they had over easy eggs, which weren't bad. The oatmeal was good. The biscuits were fine, but the gravy was not. They had lots of juice choices, which everyone really liked. The space where breakfast was served was way too small and too many guests were cramped into the space...some ate in the lobby. The breakfast staff didn't seem happy or conversational. They seemed irritated.

Overall, not a great stay for us. Not likely we'll stay at this location again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We would like to thank you for posting feedback about your recent stay. With the help of reviews like this, we are able to go through operating measures with our hotels directly to ensure that future guests do not run in to the same problems.

We would like to sincerely apologize for your experience with the room you were issued. We appreciate this opportunity to check in with our Duluth location and fine tune our operations. We certainly hope to have you back with our brand on your next vacation so we may have an opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    43
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
57
35
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed only one night in Duluth but were very happy with our choice of hotel. The staff was extremely nice and really seemed to care about whether we were happy or not. The room was clean and our double queen (standard) room had a small fridge, microwave and coffee pot to go with the newer flat screen TV.

The coffee and cookies in the lobby were a nice touch, but my favorite was the breakfast. Sometimes a place offers "breakfast" but it is little more than coffee and a donut. This hotel had a hot breakfast (sausage, eggs, potatoes) plus oatmeal, waffles, fruit, plus all the cold breakfast options.

It isn't the Ritz, but we booked through Hotwire so the value we received was top notch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo City WI
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have stayed multiple times at counrtyinn chain hotels. The main reason is we know what we are getting. This one was a tad bit disappointing. The place seemed old. They did have friendly staff for sure. But the rooms just needed some updates. Looked tired to me. The bed was hard, but my preferrance is a soft bed. It was clean. We did have a whirlpool room, and the whirlpool was ok. I think the price was high, but it was close to Duluth Mn in the summer. All hotels are high in that area at that time of the year. My main gripe here is the doors to each room. The doors SLAM at an alarmingly loud sound. People do not know to gently hold the door till it closes, nor should they have to. This really was annoying to us. So much, that we probably wont come back. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Not sure what to tell you about the slamming doors. Not much you can do about that, but try to be co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Minnesota
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a busy day and when we checked in we were told the hot tub was out of order. We asked for an upgrade and they said they could not, due to the way we booked this room online. We would have paid more and they could not figure it out. The pool was very cold. The breakfast was the best part. We probably will book elsewhere for our next Duluth trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We like staying at Country Inn and Suite properties whenever we travel. I was able to accompany my husband on a business trip lately, so we stayed at their hotel in S. Duluth (actually in the suburb of Proctor). The company has a special room rate; thus the price designation. This hotel was nowhere near as nice as some we've stayed at (the one in Schaumburg, Illinois, is outstanding!), but was quiet and comfortable. They offered wireless internet, in-room coffee, and a bed that was very comfortable. I did not have the breakfast, but my husband was disappointed in the offerings: he said the scrambled eggs were most likely from a powdered mix, and the biscuits and gravy looked unappetizing. The nice young lady at the desk searched out and printed directions to a coffee shop she knew, which we did try and found quite good. I don't know if I'd pay regular prices to stay at this property. Oh - one disappointment was that the pool was closed for maintenance the afternoon and evening we stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Good value nice large rooms and a friendly staff at this location. The only draw back is the noisy train on one side and the freeway on the other. Keep your fan running and you can't hear the noise in the room very much. Breakfast is good and it has easy access from the freeway.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed one evening with my Son and found very basic accomodations for luxury prices.
The staff was charming, but the facilities look a bit tired. The room was very basic.
If we were not so tired and needed to rest from out roadtrip, I would have requested a refund and traveled on.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Address: 9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth South
Country Inn Proctor
Proctor Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.