We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great service, nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Our family of four, plus a little dog, enjoyed our stay. Excellent, friendly service. The young man who checked us in was very helpful. Comfortable room. Quiet location, trains that run behind the hotel didn't really bother us. Nice breakfast that was well maintained and clean. Extremely convenient to ski resort. Nice pool area and a hot tub that was actually hot. Would stay again in a heartbeat. It was so nice to have a dog friendly room available in a well maintained hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are reserved for those traveling with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carbonmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Cast of Characters:
Me (wife/mom): 32
Hubby: 31
Son 1: 3
Son 2: 7 months

We <3 staying at this hotel and stay here at least once a year. We stayed at the beginning of December to partake in the Polar Express at the North Shore Railroad Museum. This is such a nice, homey hotel. Check in was a breeze and the chocolate chip cookies are oh so good at the front desk :D

When we booked a room, we went with a double bed room even though we usually book a whirlpool tub room. Closer to our trip, though, I decided it would be fun to book the whirlpool tub room and called to see if it was possible to get one. The staff I talked to was friendly and told me we were able to book the whirlpool room AND get it at the double room rate!!! We were so excited.

The rooms at this hotel are always super clean and the whirlpool tub rooms have a fridge and microwave in the room as well.

The continental breakfasts at this hotel are GREAT. Waffles, cereal, coffee, juice, rolls, fruit and now a couple of other hot items like eggs, biscuts and gravy, etc.

The staff members at the hotel are first rate! Always super friendly and willing to help out with anything you might need.

If you're looking to stay in a nice hotel near Duluth without paying the prices of the Canal Park area, I HIGHLY recommend Country Inn & Suites Duluth South!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kruskor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Its about a ten minute commute to downtown Duluth but if your just going to Duluth to ski at spirit mountain its literally a 1 minute drive. The hotel is right of of 35
Great wifi pool is a little small, there is a small 9 person hot tub no sauna.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

If your tastes run towards the fancy or luxurious, you're probably going to be inclined to take your business elsewhere. This is "motor inn", not "boutique hotel". Everything about it: location (right off I-35, adjacent to a McDonalds and a gas station), entry area (think small lobby rather than massive atrium), elevator (tiny) screams economy lodging.

But for simple, if unspectacular, family establishment, this is a really solid choice. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and fairly sized. The breakfast area was clean, and well stocked. But what makes this place a 4-star establishment, as opposed to a middling 3-star establishment, is the quality of the service. You hear a lot about "Minnesota Nice", and these folks live up to that, and then some.

One thing beyond their control, but nonetheless annoying: there is a rail line that runs maybe 100 yards behind the hotel, and a train runs through. Very, very late at night. You've been warned!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Friendly staff. Good location next to spirit mountain

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mqttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Clean facilities, friendly service, decent (though not great) breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnesota75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

The room was very clean, but a bit outdated. I would give the breakfast a B rating. My biggest complaint is that I could hear the people in the room next to me talking, which was very annoying - not very sound proof. The work out room is very small.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
7.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Address: 9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels in Duluth, MN are close to great destinations, but our Duluth hotel has guests nestled minutes from the excitement of Spirit Mountain Ski Area and Adventure Park. Whether you're here for recreation at Canal Park or an event at Amsoil Arena DECC, staying at the right Proctor hotel can make all the difference. Our location and proximity to Spirit Mountain, downtown Duluth, Canal Park and many outdoor activities makes us a favorite. Our free, hot deluxe breakfast ensures you're ready to take on any adventure. Of course, no stay is complete without excellent customer service and cleanliness, as well as high-speed Internet, a business center, well-equipped fitness center and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth South
Country Inn Proctor
Proctor Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing