We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Strange Caesar Salad...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mexico Lindo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mexico Lindo
600 E Superior Street, Duluth, MN
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 228 restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Southbridge MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Strange Caesar Salad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Atmosphere was pretty good and server was a nice (if overly talkative) guy. However, you gotta work hard to mess up a Caesar Salad. There was very little lettuce and it was covered, COVERED, in onion and green pepper slices. Maybe they were low on lettuce and tried to make up the difference with more veggies. However, those who don't like onion and green pepper order Caesar rather house salad. Others with me enjoyed their meals but everything was just average Mexican restaurant food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    10
    21
    19
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good fish tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We sat looking out at the lake and had fish tacos. The fish was excellent and the second taco shell got a little soggy from the great salsa on the taco. Price was great as was the service. Would eat hear again for sure.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I was expecting better, but will try again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It wasn't bad, first off. Even a really good restaurant can have an off night. My chili relleno was ICE COLD in the middle. I tell the server and he says "would you like me to HEAT IT UP"?. no thanks....in fairness, my wifes was fine but lacked a whole lot of flavor. I will return because I loved the location and you can't always judge on one trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“If only the food matched the view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

First, let me mention the good points. We were seated on the deck looking over Lake Superior. It was early evening with perfect weather for Duluth. The view was spectacular. Unlike other reviews for this restaurant, the service was actually quite prompt and responsive. The wrong food was brought to our table. The waiter apologized and returned with our correct order within about three minutes. From the time we were seated to the time we paid for our meal, it was sixty minutes.

If only we hadn't ordered food! The salsa that was served with the chips had no taste. We ordered Ixtapa Fajita for two. There was enough food for three, maybe four people. I expect fajita to arrive at the table sizzling hot. This food arrived barely warm and had clearly been sitting for some time. The vegetables were soggy with a quarter inch of oil at the bottom of the dish. There was very little guacamole and no cheese. The tortillas were wrapped in foil and must have been there for a long time. In addition, the table was so dirty that we didn't want to touch it, and the floor of the deck had so many chips that it attracted pigeons forcing customers to shoo them away. There are other restaurants with great views of Lake Superior. Stay away from this one!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Mexican with a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Chips and salsa were good, which I followed with shrimp tacos and a chile relleno. Tacos were good, but the chile relleno was really excellent. Great view if you're lucky enough to sit next to a window or outside. Also had a margarita, which was tasty! Great place to eat if you're shopping in the Fitger's complex!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico Lindo also viewed

 

Been to Mexico Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexico Lindo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.