We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's Cheap and then there's just plain old gross” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Duluth to your Saves list
Motel 6 Duluth
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   200 South 27th Ave. West, Duluth, MN 55806   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Iron River, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“There's Cheap and then there's just plain old gross”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A sign informing you that the hotel regularly shares their guest list with the Duluth Police Department welcomes you at this West Duluth, pet friendly Motel 6. I'm not sure if that's supposed to make you feel safe or not. Needless to say, we weren't impressed. Check-in took extra long but we were told multiple times that's because management doesn't staff the desk with enough people. There was literally a line about 8 people deep when we checked in. There also seemed to be issues with rooms being clean/check-in was taking extra long because he didn't know if the rooms were ready or not. The hotel is in serious need of updates. But, given it was fall peak and one of the few places available that took dogs, we were willing to overlook the lackluster amenities for our $100 plus stay. However, it just kept getting worse. Once inside our room, we discovered that wifi was $2.99 per night. A crappy corporate policy that makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. When my husband went to take a quick shower before dinner, we discovered the showerhead was broken. That night... as temperatures dipped into the mid 30s, we learned our heater was broken. The mattress was horribly uncomfortable but I'd somewhat expect that in a cheap hotel. The only upside was that when we asked for an extra pillow, the staff provided two. The other benefit is no free breakfast which justifies eating at the Duluth Grill, which is within spitting distance of the hotel. When we checked out, we mentioned the issues... the front desk staff clearly didn't care. They wrote nothing down, asked no questions, and sort of did the nod and yeah sure we'll get on that. My husband suggested they not check the room out again and well, the smirk on his face said the room would be rented out again well before it was fixed. I'm all about a good deal but when a chain gets so many things wrong and still charges $100+, well I'm less than impressed. I shared my experience afterwards via a survey and their response was even worse. They clearly just don't care about the customer experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Duluth, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Northern Wisconsin,
Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for your unpleasant stay you and the poor guest service you encountered, and we encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    22
    13
    32
See reviews for
13
24
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champlin, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

So if you are looking for no frills but inexpensive and good location this is an ok place. For some reason Duluth was booked solid (uless you wanted to pay over $200 per night) except for this, but it was fine. All I really need is clean and safe which it was. It also has a good location off the freeway, good reasonably priced food next door, inexpensive gas station also next door. For $2 more I even had a refrigerator for my beer and pop, something I could not get in a $500 room in Manhattan. Don't get me wrong, this is not the taj. But it was ok, and given the family emergency I was in town for, more than met the needs. Course it helps that my expections were already pretty low.

Room Tip: spend the extra $2 to get a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Horrible staff, dirty and extremely outdated facility. Only had smoking rooms which was disgusting. A horrible spot to stay in for Duluth. Beds were old and the sheets and comforters were stained. No amenities whatsoever. Even the wifi was 2.99 per night. Expensive for such a horrible stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Duluth, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Kaiden W
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The cleanliness and service conditions you encountered are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6, and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I made a three-day reservation through Orbitz, but my buddy had also made reservations for another hotel for Friday night. I cancelled the reservation through Orbitz, but then made a single day reservation to cover Saturday only. On Saturday morning, a room became available at the hotel we were staying at, so we drove to the Motel 6 to cancel in-person. Done. But, wait - they charged me anyway! No proof, so I got stuck with the credit card charge.

Not happy! ...Mac

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Duluth, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mac,
Our sincerest apologies for your cancellation charges. Please contact our guest relations department and give them your Orbitz confirmation number and they should be able to help you get a refund. 1-800-577-3435
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very convenient location on the trip north and next to an excellent diner, The Duluth Grill, which serves local, organic food.
Our room was clean enough, and we had no complaints about the service, but this is a pretty bare bones operation, even by Motel 6 standards. However, it is SO easy to turn off the expressway, spend the night and have an excellent breakfast the next day before heading on that we might use this place again. Just keep your expectations in check.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I would not stay here but we had no choice. We were traveling cross-country on a Saturday night and we couldn't find anything available. Because it was late and we were headed west, there didn't seem to be much available west or south of us and we had just come from the east. As you look at this hotel from the street, trust your judgement. We actually went back two times and the choice was there or sleep in the car. This place was not clean or comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 Duluth, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear PegJ,
Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had in our Duluth location. Please kindly contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wish we would have read the reviews for this hotel FIRST! The bed seemed to be VERY used no water pressure--not to mention the absence of the usual toiletries! The whole place smelled. Stay away from the motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Duluth

Address: 200 South 27th Ave. West, Duluth, MN 55806
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Duluth 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Motel Six
Duluth Motel 6
Motel Six Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.