We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRING YOUR CAMERA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Hill Information Center

Thompson Hill Information Center
8525 West Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55810
(218) 723-4938
Update attraction details
Ranked #6 of 45 attractions in Duluth
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers
Attraction Details
Roseau, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“BRING YOUR CAMERA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The views from Thompson Hill make a stop here very worthwhile. If you have a telephoto lens capturing fantastic views is possible (harbor, lift bridge, ore docks, Enger Tower, etc.).

There is also a dramatic metal sculpture to one side of the park. Ample parking, easy access from, and return to, Interstate 35; rest rooms, and information.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Must stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stop here if only for the view! We always stop in as we get into town to pick up any information we may need, restroom stop, take pictures and enjoy the wonder views.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctor, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We live just a few miles from here and we go there a couple times a year just to check out the views. For travelers, it's nice, clean place to stop for a quick break after a long drive. Lots of information and maps available.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great stop on your way into town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent rest area. Plenty of parking & clean rest rooms... Giant picture window with view of western Duluth & St. Louis River. There's even a map below to tell you the sights and names. I live in Duluth, and still think this is a fun place to stop at on my way past!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must stop when visiting Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great place to streach your legs and pick up the latest visitor guides. Great view of the Lake and St Louis river.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thompson Hill Information Center also viewed

 

Been to Thompson Hill Information Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Hill Information Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Thompson Hill Information Center to your Saves list