We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Malts in Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PortLand Malt Shoppe

PortLand Malt Shoppe
716 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 225 restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Malts in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It's a Duluth Summer tradition. You know summer is here when the Malt Shoppe opens. The line is worth it! Take it down to the lakewalk and peoplewatch!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    12
    5
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Large Customer Crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Looking out of our Fitger's Hotel room northern facing window, we noticed a steady stream of people coming and going from a small building on the lake front and perhaps an estimated 15-25 people at any given time.We decided to investigate and found out the popular attraction was a malt shop. This particular day was windy, with a cool breeze coming off Lake Superior, so cooling off with ice cream wasn't needed.

The Portland Malt Shoppe primarily sells ice cream products. Since there was a large crowd on a chilly day, we decided we needed to try three of their malts, all of which were quite delicious. We are certainly glad we noticed this crowd and look forward to another visit soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This place never disappoints. With endless flavor combinations, this place is a must stop for anyone visiting Duluth. The added bonus is that it's right on the Lakewalk so afterwards you can walk it off.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctor, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A regular stop for us on lakewalk days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We almost always stop here for ice cream when we're walking the lakewalk. It's a bit expensive, but a fun treat that my daughter loves, and is always looking forward to.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The building is so unique. It's an old industrial building , but it is so tiny. There was always a crowd around. But the wait was worth it. The ice cream is so great.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PortLand Malt Shoppe also viewed

 

Been to PortLand Malt Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PortLand Malt Shoppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.