We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Canal Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save with the AAA Rate!
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Hugo, MN, United States
1 review
“Great stay in Canal Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had a great stay in the Canal Park Hampton Inn in Duluth, MN. The entire hotel, rooms, pool area were spotless! We appreciated the hand-written note in our room that ALL the bed linens were clean & fresh..... and the beds were SO comfortable. ALL the staff (front desk, breakfast, room service/cleaning) were very friendly & helpful. Hotel does not have a restaurant, however, the staff were a big help in finding us a place for take-out. Pool area was very clean & hot tub jets worked very well. Thanks for a great stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    119
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
113
123
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Freedom, WI, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

A great place to stay while in Duluth, MN. Great breakfast provided everyday. The hotel also can provide hiking type (shore lunch) lunch bags for your lunch. Good cookies towards evening. Always clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

It was a nice lakefront location which was convenient. There are many shops and dining establishments within walking distance. The staff was friendly. I would recommend this hotel if in the Duluth area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turtlepoint, PA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

It was everything that we have come to expect when staying at a Hampton Inn. It is the reason we abandoned another National Hotel chain for Hampton Inns. You know what you will be getting. This Hampton did not disappoint. The room was clean and well kept as you would expect. Staff was friendly. The Inn is located in the center of the Canal Park area and was surrounded by activity through the early evening until a pouring rain scattered people. The only disappointment was our inability to book a lakeside room. I was really looking forward to photographing a nice sunrise this morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Was able to book a lakeside room and enjoyed the stay. As you would expect it is not cheap but the rooms were clean and quite and close to action. I would stay again next time in Duluth. The only downfall is the continental breakfest was very average. I have had much better but they offered pleny of food just nothing fantastic. Still worth the stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

There isn't really anything derogatory to say about this place. It has very clean and comfortable rooms. If you are lucky enough to get a lakeside room the view is spectacular. The service is very good and the breakfasts are above average.
I stayed here 4 nights because my employer booked our group at this hotel for a conference at the DECC. If you want to stay where you are close to the water and have walking access to everything including the DECC, then this is the place.
I did not have a lakeside room (we were here just before the HUGELY popular Blues Fest) and all hotels were booked to the max, and a lakeside room was nearly impossible to get. I have stayed here on a previous visit and had a lakeside room.
Only three minor complaints: 1. I was on the 2nd floor and could hear someone in the room above me stomping around at 5AM each day. 2. On the fourth evening of our stay, the room key stopped working, and I had to go get another one. 3. My room was pre-paid by my employer, yet they still charged my personal credit card and it took some finesse to get it removed.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is best or you will hear people wallking around on the floor above you. A lakeside room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is the place to stay when visiting Duluth, Minnesota. The motel is located in Canal Park with a great view of beautiful Lake Superior & you are near the lake boardwalk, lift bridge (for viewing ships), and many shops/restaurants. The Hampton is a very clean motel with a very friendly staff. I have been coming here for 15 years at least.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Address: 310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.