We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hampton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save with the AAA Rate!
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Naperville, United States
1 review
“The Hampton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

the Hampton was very clean, the rooms are nice, it has a great view of the lake front, the people in the Hampton were very kind and friendly and everything was in walking distance...great location. I would recommend this hotel to any one visiting Duluth Minnesota.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    114
    36
    10
    8
See reviews for
106
119
19
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

When on the road for business, I commonly have 5-8 hotel choices for overnight stays. Hampton Inns are my first choice because they consistently provide very good accomodations and meals. I also appreciate the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff at Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Duluth. Even if you have a room facing away from the lake the breakfast area overlooks the lake. This is a good place to be able to explore the area from. The historic lift bridge is just down the road. Great restaurants right in the area too!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the view of the lake is stupendous, and I bet the amenities would have been nice if they weren't all taken by the group of hockey teams that were staying the same weekend. The pool was always filled, the lobby was full of boisterous teenagers running around and being quite loud, and there was a drunk in the hallways at 2am waking up me and my girlfriend. The yelling at 2am was becuase "the hallway smelt like marifuana," this was at least what the drunk was yelling along with, "anyone got some booze," "who's up," "lets party," and some great racial slurs that bruatally offended me. Security was there and they did nothing about it. I would reccommend a different hotel if you want great R&R. The management has not done anything to correct the wrongs that we experienced and I am waiting for some sort of compensation or at least an apology.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorri D, Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize your stay was less than satisfactory. In regards to the usage of the pool and other public areas, I'm sorry you were not able to enjoy them as you would have liked. As for the noise at 2am and the issue with the drunken person. I can not apologize enough. I agree it is unacceptable and should not have been a part of your vacation. I do know security and the manager on duty were both on the floor trying to take care of multiple issues though by your review I can see it was not as timely as we would have hoped. Again please accept my apologies and know this is not the norm for us at the Hampton Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Excellent location, room was quite large with the Jacuzzi hot tub. Only complaint was the noise of patrons running up and down the hallways, hollering, slamming doors - sounded like they were right in our room unfortunately!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenyon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in Canal Park for a business meeting. I was impressed with the updated decor and the location of the hotel. Easy access to restaurants, a walking path on Lake Superior right outside the hotel, beautiful views

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for business or pleasure. The Canal Park area is bursting with restaurants and stores yet downtown is 5 minutes away,
Greeted with a friendly smile and quickly assigned our room with instructions on how to get there. This is a “happening” hotel in a vibrant location. We arrived at 11 pm but there was still a group enjoying the lounge overlooking Lake Superior adjacent to the area where breakfast is served. There is another, more intimate lounge area across from the check-in counter with a fireplace.
The room was clean and had all the amenities. The desk/work area was especially well thought out with a table on wheels that could be pushed in or pulled out for more desk space under the fixed ledge for books or papers. As with all the Hampton Inn’s I’ve stayed at recently, there were multiple plugs for computers or charging devices.
The beds were very comfortable and we slept well under the warm duvets.
The breakfast area was particularly roomy in this Hampton with all the usual offerings including eggs, oatmeal, sausages, toast, bagels, butter and Becel and the great Belgian waffle machines.
Checkout was quick and we were on our way from the well maintained parking lot.

Room Tip: views from all rooms are good. On the city side you can get some nice night shots, lake views are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Address: 310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.