We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Save up to 10%
Ranked #8 of 31 hotels in Duluth
Stony Plain
2 reviews
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Excellent location, room was quite large with the Jacuzzi hot tub. Only complaint was the noise of patrons running up and down the hallways, hollering, slamming doors - sounded like they were right in our room unfortunately!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    90
    30
    7
    7
See reviews for
82
91
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenyon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in Canal Park for a business meeting. I was impressed with the updated decor and the location of the hotel. Easy access to restaurants, a walking path on Lake Superior right outside the hotel, beautiful views

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for business or pleasure. The Canal Park area is bursting with restaurants and stores yet downtown is 5 minutes away,
Greeted with a friendly smile and quickly assigned our room with instructions on how to get there. This is a “happening” hotel in a vibrant location. We arrived at 11 pm but there was still a group enjoying the lounge overlooking Lake Superior adjacent to the area where breakfast is served. There is another, more intimate lounge area across from the check-in counter with a fireplace.
The room was clean and had all the amenities. The desk/work area was especially well thought out with a table on wheels that could be pushed in or pulled out for more desk space under the fixed ledge for books or papers. As with all the Hampton Inn’s I’ve stayed at recently, there were multiple plugs for computers or charging devices.
The beds were very comfortable and we slept well under the warm duvets.
The breakfast area was particularly roomy in this Hampton with all the usual offerings including eggs, oatmeal, sausages, toast, bagels, butter and Becel and the great Belgian waffle machines.
Checkout was quick and we were on our way from the well maintained parking lot.

Room Tip: views from all rooms are good. On the city side you can get some nice night shots, lake views are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was the best hotel that I have stayed at in Duluth. I thank the friendly and helpful staff who all had smiles. Breakfast area was perfect with lots of seating and large windows to view Lake Superior.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This particular Hampton in right on the beautiful Lake Superior. A beautiful place to get away but be so close to things to do. There are many great shopping and dining locations within walking distance and the view is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Hotel was conviently located. Walking distance to a variety of restaraunts and shops. In the bitter MN cold we enjoyed a walk to Grandma's for dinner. The pool was warm and the hot tub was hot. We were able to use the lobby area as a meeting place with family where we ate dinner and played games. Breakfast in the morning offered hot and cold options. Both were delicious and the staff refilled items as they were eaten.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Two nights with very little sleep = horrible stay at this Hampton. Although outward appearances are fine, the construction is awful...the walls and ceilings are extremely thin. Not only could we hear people shouting, running up and down the halls, and banging on doors into the wee hours of the morning, we also had to deal with much stomping above us. Earplugs and running both the bathroom and heater fans constantly barely dimmed the ongoing noise. We put up with it the first night, getting only a few hours of sleep. The second night we phoned the front desk and were told security would be notified. Nothing happened. We phoned again...there was no answer. We finally went out into the hall in our pajamas...twice...asking people to quiet down...without success. Second night again...only a few hours of sleep...a very exhausting stay. If we'd wanted to have a college dorm experience for two nights, we would've tried UMD. Although we're Hilton Honors members, we will definitely stay elsewhere on our next visit to Duluth. This was awful!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorri D, Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I was sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. I know we did not have security on that Thursday,which admittedly was an oversight on our part knowing a team was going to be in house. There is no excuse as to why on Friday night our security and front desk staff would not be able to handle noise issues properly. Please be assured this is an important issue to us and it will be looked into and handled immediately. Without specific information I can only do so much in regards to these complaints.

You can add notes into your profile that alerts us to have you on the top floor. You can also add notes in the comment section to let us know of your noise issue concerns. We want every stay to be a good one for everyone. We would be more than happy to do whatever we can to make your next stay memorable in a positive way.

Thank you for your time and your honesty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel
Duluth Hampton Inn
Address: 310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.