We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Duluth - Ehh?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save with the AAA Rate!
Ranked #6 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Fort Wayne, United States
1 review
“Hampton Inn Duluth - Ehh?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Usually the Hampton Inn name would indicate a bit nicer hotel than your average hotel. That is what this hotel is - Very Average. Nothing too much to complain about besides the person in the room above me who I could clearly hear stomping around. The lobby was going through renovations and most of it was blocked off, but from what I could tell overall it was a very average hotel. I was a bit surprised since the rate that I paid seemed to be more than the average hotel stay and it was off season for the Duluth area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorri D, Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your time and opinions. I do apologize for the remodeling being done during your recent stay. With our solarium and breakfast area undergoing updating it is a bit hard to get the full affect of staying on the lake. I can assure you our rates are comparable to the other area hotels in the Canal Park area. We do our best to stay competitive. I hope you will return once the remodel is finished and see our new look. I can tell you I am very excited by the updates they have done so far and can't wait to see the finished product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    107
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
102
109
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great service. Nothing really knocked my socks off about the joint. I mean, It's just another Hampton Inn, every one I've stayed in seemed like a mirror image of the last, except the Bemidji, MN one, which was a gem. Our main reason for staying was a pile of Hilton Honors points I've been sitting on. The location is not bad at all though, close to plenty of bars and restaurants, and even a few small shops if that's your thing. Go in with average expectations and you'll be just fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Awesome Service. The hotel was very clean and the the Complimentary breakfast is the best I've ever had at any hotel. They had everything from waffles, cereal, scrambled eggs and boiled eggs. We stayed for two weeks on business and cute shops, restaurants were all within walking distance. Great Staff, Great Service!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel was predictable but nice. I have no complaints. Good breakfast with to-go bags for people going out the door in the morning. Staff was friendly and pleasant. Spoke with lots of different shifts and they were all consistent. Location is great. Right amongst the shopping and restaurants. Room was nice and clean. Carpeting in hallways could use some refreshing along with elevator. Looks like they are remodeling the lobby area. But overall it was fine. Quiet at night. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great view of the lake, be sure to book a "lake side" room as opposed to "city side". Fitness room has a scale, which is useful. Great staff, too. Breakfast is better than most places. Good access to restaurants and stores. If you have time, check out nearby maritime museum and Bob Dylan's boyhood home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescent, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Perfect hotel for business or pleasure. Great view, nice staff and a lot of restaurants within walking distance. I stay here every time I visit Duluth! It is easy to find from the Minnesota or Wisconsin side and if you like to walk, there is an amazing walking path behind the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

While the location on Canal Park was ideal, the rest if the stay at this hotel was less than ideal. Staying in a street facing room meant parking lot and street noise in a addition to the guest noise from above and in surrounding rooms. The breakfast was a welcome treat, but offered little protein option for a vegetarian. Duluth is known for being vegetarian and vegan friendly, but this hotel was not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorri D, Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I apologize for the noise you encountered during your stay. May I ask if you contacted the front desk to assist in the noise issue? As for the breakfast we do follow the Hampton standards. We are not allowed to offer items that are not on the approved list. I can tell you that Hampton is rolling out some new foods including fresh cut fruit and several other items. Next time you stay with us we can add a note in your reservation alerting us that you have specific food needs. That way we can plan ahead to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you again and have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Address: 310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#5 Business Hotel in Duluth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.