We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location on Canal Park.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save with the AAA Rate!
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Bemidji, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous location on Canal Park.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Room was spacious, clean and updated. Enjoyed being able to walk out the door and onto the lake walk. Conveniently located to shops, DECC, and nice restaurants. The breakfast was very good, and really enjoyed having coffee and chatting in the sunroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    117
    36
    10
    8
See reviews for
108
121
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just stayed here one night to attend a UMD hockey game. It is located just a few blocks away from the arena and surrounded by great shopping and restaurants. The most enjoyable time spent during our short visit was having coffee with friends in the hotel's lovely sunroom/lounge watching the huge snowflakes falling with a view of the lake. Our room was clean and comfortable. I would have liked better lighting and the bed was a little hard, but overall our stay was fabulous. The desk staff was helpful and check-in and out was courteous and fast. We did not eat breakfast, but the coffee was good. I would definitely come back to this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

By far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Room was super spacious with jacuzzi in room. Breakfast was awesome! From the Building to the room everything was in perfect order and clean. We stayed in Room 333 which is a corner room. The views of Lake Superiour from the living room and bedroom exceeded expectations. Hotel was centrally located on Canal Park with anything you would need within walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with Jacuzzi. Room is HUGE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times for business and a few for personal family travel. We love the location of the hotel, because it is right on Canal Park with many food and drink options within safe walking distance. The View is beautiful over the harbor, hotel staff, breakfast staff and overall experience are wonderful.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a lake view room to enjoy the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed at the Hampton Inn at Canal Park in Duluth for a winter weekend getaway. When we first arrived, we all noticed that the lobby and hallways smelled of stale cigarettes. The carpets were dingy and outdated. The rooms were small, but not uncomfortably so. One thing we all found particularly tacky, was a post-it note stuck on each bed's headboard telling us that the duvet cover was clean.

The room was equipped with a nice TV, a microwave, mini fridge, hair dryer, and a clock radio (the radio on it did not work).

The toiletries provided were much smaller than most hotels provide and were "Purity" brand.

Two positive things I can say about the room was that the beds were very soft and comfortable and the curtains provided total black out, which was nice.

In the morning, the hotel offered a continental breakfast, which was lackluster. Under cooked bacon, mini omelettes, make your own waffles, runny oatmeal, and small boxes of cereal were the bulk of what was available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorri D, Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I was sorry to hear the lobby and breakfast did not meet your satisifaction. Our hotel is completely smoke free and we do our best to make sure all guests follow the rules. Though we do follow Hampton standards for our breakfast and emenities I will be sure to check with the individual departments to see if there is anyway we can improve on the specified items you mentioned. It is only through guest feed back such as yours, that we are able to improve our offerings. So thank you again for taking the time to post your review and be assured I will be looking in to the issues you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Planned a sweet 16 birthday party for my son, who loves to snowboard. I took him and two of his buddies to Spirit Mountain and I stayed back, happily, in the hotel room. I had a great view of Lake Superior. The breakfast was tasty. The room was very clean - well kept up. I enjoyed the free HBO.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My stay at this hotel was absolutely wonderful. It's location, Canal Park, is near many restaurants and shops and near tons of action!

The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable. The room was VERY spacious, the bed was superb! The staff was very warm and inviting. Breakfast was actually very tasty and had lots of selection.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Address: 310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#5 Business Hotel in Duluth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.