We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location to all worth seeing on Canal Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Franklin
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Location to all worth seeing on Canal Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. The room was large, clean and beautiful. The lake was outside the hotel on one side and Canal Park on the other. Breakfast was hot and plentiful. You receive a warm welcome and all staff will greet you. We really enjoyed sitting outside of the hotel and viewing the lake. You get a fridge, microwave, king size bed, room divider and comfort. The cleaning staff leaves you a post it note stating all your sheets and duvet are clean!

Room Tip: Any room is good including the street side views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorri D, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful Lake Superior. It truely is a sight to see. Thank you for such a glowing review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    133
    41
    13
    9
See reviews for
125
144
21
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Hampton Inn sits on Lake Superior, in an excellent location in the Canal Park area. We stayed over Labor Day and found it to be clean with a friendly and accommodating staff. The Canal Park area has lots of things to do – art galleries, locally owned shops, and at least a dozen restaurants – within walking distance.

We paid a little more and chose a lake view room, which was well worth the money. Throughout the day and evening we watched numerous ships leave and enter the harbor. The sun rise over the lake in the morning was absolutely spectacular!!!

On the first day we were there we walked for miles along the shore on the Park Point peninsula – please note, you need to find a public access area, but once you’re on the beach you can literally walk for miles. On the second day, we walked for miles toward the main part of Duluth on the boardwalk that meanders along the lake shore through a number of city parks…always capturing a beautiful view of Lake Superior and the harbor area.

The room was cozy and clean – the bed was very comfortable. They provide free wireless internet that was easy to connect to. The pool, Jacuzzi, and workout equipment were adequate.

The hotel serves a nice variety of dishes for breakfast, which varies from day-to-day. Scrambled eggs, oatmeal, waffles, bacon, biscuits and gravy, breads, bagels, sweet rolls, fruits, etc. All anyone really needs.

All-in-all a nice find!

Room Tip: Choose a lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onamia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed at the Hamptin Inn for a conference for work it was close to the DECC. It was one of many hotels we could choose it had a great FREE breakfast. The room was cozy and clean.
They had free wireless internet that was easy to connect to. The pool was small but was nice.The lake view beautiful. It made the conference better with a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: pay the extra money for lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorri D, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will have time to come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel was an excellent location for Canal Park. We were able to walk out to some great restaurants - though Grizzly's was our favourite! We really enjoyed being able to sit outside the back of the hotel and have such a wonderful view of the Lake. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was well organised with a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

It's a bit over priced, the location is pretty sweet, I had a great view of the bay, the beds were very comforty. Breakfast was a bit over crowded, but the food was good.

The staff was very friendly and gave a warm welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtrum, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Hampton Inn sits on Lake Superior, so you get very nice lake views and also the convenience of the bike/walk path that travels along Superior itself. The breakfast area has a front room with large windows, chairs, and a TV so you can relax there, play a game or look at the paper, sip your coffee or drink, and have a beautiful view of the lake.

We had a room downstairs which unfortunately meant hearing all the "traffic" upstairs. Anytime anyone walked above us, we heard it. The fans in the room were not very loud, so drowning out noise and such was not an option while sleeping. The property definitely needs better soundproof walls!

The room itself was cute and comfy, nice decor, etc. However, one of the trash cans had not been emptied from the previous guests in the room, which wasn't exactly appealing upon entering the room. We spent 2 nights here and room service did not come to our room at all. We left the room around noon, which is bit later than when most people get out and about, but I am used to staying at properties where they will still come service the room no matter the time of day. Since we were only there two nights it really wasn't a huge deal, but it is something that can be a nuisance for most travelers.

I did not eat breakfast as I am not typically a breakfast person, but the hotel did serve a nice variety of dishes for the mornings, eggs, bacon, breads/bagels, fruits, etc and the food looked delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorri D, Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is only through feed back like this that gives us an opportunity to improve our amenities and services. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Duluth.

However I am very sorry your stay was not up to our Hampton standards. Please be assured I will be looking further into why the garbage was not completely removed and why you did not receive cleaning service. It is our policy to clean each room every day. The only time it should not have been cleaned is if you have your "Do not disturb" sign on the door or if someone had told the housekeper or front desk you didn't need service. So I do apologies that you did not get service. That is not the "norm" for our Hotel.

I also would like to thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. I hope you will stay with us again so that we may demonstrate our proper "Hamptonality and Service" for you.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The staff was friendly and very helpful. They gave great dinner and lunch recommendations. We loved the location. It was near everything we wanted to do in Duluth. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed the pool area and the outside patio that looked onto the bay. My husband loved the hot breakfast choices. Waffles and a new egg and meat choice each day.

Room Tip: Get on the second floor. We could hear our upstairs neighbors' every steph.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Address: 310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.