We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save with the AAA Rate!
Ranked #6 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Herbster, WI
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always a Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Right on Lake Superior in Canal Park, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better location in the area. The rooms are always immaculate and the staff friendly and know the area so very well. Within walking distance are shops, restaurants, and area attractions.
Were it not for the processed eggs for breakfast, I would have given it six stars. The eggs are disgusting.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a lake front room and visit the Lake Superior museum just a little east of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    107
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
102
109
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a nice hotel situated on the lake. It is very nice, clean breakfast included. Near lots of restaurants which is quite walkable.
Friendly staff and info re the local cuisine.

Room Tip: They have lots of rooms and on the main level next the water front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

For a 2 star property, it was a nice hotel. The price though was kind of steep and more reflective of a 3 star hotel. The breakfast was on par with other Hampton Inns I've stayed at. The breakfast area had a nice view of the lake and the Duluth lighthouses. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can serve you in the future. You mention the cost was a bit pricey. I can assure you our rates are in line with other hotels in the area. Duluth is a tourist town, and with being right on the lake and so close to shopping and restaurants it does affect our pricing. We do try to even it out by offering a complimentary hot breakfast, wi-fi, excercise room, pool and hot tub to name a few perks. We certainly understand the need to spend wisely and hope that your overall experiance at the Hampton is a pleasant one. Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Duluth - Canal Park during a skating competition at the DECC. This is the second year in a row that we've stayed here and this year we noticed that the rooms were very clean, almost new, and thought it was the nicest Hampton Inn that we've ever stayed at. It's not typically the hotel I search for when travelling and have stayed in a couple that I wouldn't return to, but I would definitely go back here. Not sure if the rooms have been updated since last year?? The breakfast buffet was decent, the staff was friendly, and the room was clean and had everything we needed. Nice selection of pillows and soft bedding. It's a great location for tourists right on Canal Park with lots of nearby restaurants, shops, and tourist places. We'll be back next winter!

Room Tip: You can spend a little more for a lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

From the moment Sarah answered the phone when I called to make my reservation to the moment I walked in the front door and she greeted me personally, I've been impressed with this sparkly young lady who works the front desk at the HI-Duluth! Then I learned she's an antiques dealer (as I am) and knew I'd struck gold - a kindred spirit! Bravo to whoever hired Sarah - she's a gem in the crown of this wonderful hotel!

When I came "home" to Duluth this past September, the HI was booked and I was very disappointed! But this time I got lucky and returned to my home away from home to find it just as I left it: full of friendly people, spotless rooms, warm cookies, hot tea, and a wonderful public room overlooking my beloved Lake Superior. For my money, it just doesn't get better than this!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here over MEA weekend. Like so many other Hampton Inns, this was a great stay. Courteous staff, clean and well decorated property and rooms, very nice pool, great location near lots of restaurants, and a plentiful breakfast. This property have become one of our preferred places to stay in Duluth.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our extended family returned to DUluth to attend the funeral of a beloved family member and the Hampton Inn provided us with good rate and very comfortable room. We had stayed in the hotel when it was first built in 1997 and the have maintained the same quality over the years. The rooms have been recently remodeled (some of the rooms were still u/c during our stay). The breakfast buffet was excellent as well as the breakfast staff (who were so kind to us). The room was very clean and appealing. Our stay was too short to enjoy some of the ammenities of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Address: 310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#5 Business Hotel in Duluth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.