We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Herbster, WI
Level Contributor
96 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always a Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Right on Lake Superior in Canal Park, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better location in the area. The rooms are always immaculate and the staff friendly and know the area so very well. Within walking distance are shops, restaurants, and area attractions.
Were it not for the processed eggs for breakfast, I would have given it six stars. The eggs are disgusting.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a lake front room and visit the Lake Superior museum just a little east of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    139
    47
    13
    10
See reviews for
133
156
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a nice hotel situated on the lake. It is very nice, clean breakfast included. Near lots of restaurants which is quite walkable.
Friendly staff and info re the local cuisine.

Room Tip: They have lots of rooms and on the main level next the water front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

For a 2 star property, it was a nice hotel. The price though was kind of steep and more reflective of a 3 star hotel. The breakfast was on par with other Hampton Inns I've stayed at. The breakfast area had a nice view of the lake and the Duluth lighthouses. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can serve you in the future. You mention the cost was a bit pricey. I can assure you our rates are in line with other hotels in the area. Duluth is a tourist town, and with being right on the lake and so close to shopping and restaurants it does affect our pricing. We do try to even it out by offering a complimentary hot breakfast, wi-fi, excercise room, pool and hot tub to name a few perks. We certainly understand the need to spend wisely and hope that your overall experiance at the Hampton is a pleasant one. Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Duluth - Canal Park during a skating competition at the DECC. This is the second year in a row that we've stayed here and this year we noticed that the rooms were very clean, almost new, and thought it was the nicest Hampton Inn that we've ever stayed at. It's not typically the hotel I search for when travelling and have stayed in a couple that I wouldn't return to, but I would definitely go back here. Not sure if the rooms have been updated since last year?? The breakfast buffet was decent, the staff was friendly, and the room was clean and had everything we needed. Nice selection of pillows and soft bedding. It's a great location for tourists right on Canal Park with lots of nearby restaurants, shops, and tourist places. We'll be back next winter!

Room Tip: You can spend a little more for a lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here over MEA weekend. Like so many other Hampton Inns, this was a great stay. Courteous staff, clean and well decorated property and rooms, very nice pool, great location near lots of restaurants, and a plentiful breakfast. This property have become one of our preferred places to stay in Duluth.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our extended family returned to DUluth to attend the funeral of a beloved family member and the Hampton Inn provided us with good rate and very comfortable room. We had stayed in the hotel when it was first built in 1997 and the have maintained the same quality over the years. The rooms have been recently remodeled (some of the rooms were still u/c during our stay). The breakfast buffet was excellent as well as the breakfast staff (who were so kind to us). The room was very clean and appealing. Our stay was too short to enjoy some of the ammenities of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We booked online so check in was a breeze. The front desk staff were very nice and gave us their undivided attention. We had a canal view room on the 3rd floor that was clean, had a nice view and a gleaming bathroom. My only complaint for this stay was about the coffee service. There was 24 hour service for coffee, but when I made mine in the morning the cream had curdled. I mentioned it at the front desk since I was checking out at the time.

We loved the canal park location because it meant that we could walk to the DECC for movies or a show. There are plenty of places to see and restaurants within walking distance. I think that this is where I'd stay next trip to Duluth.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review of our Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We love having you here! I was one of the people at the desk during your check out. We really appreciate you taking the time to stop at the desk and let us know about the creamers. I notified the breakfast staff immediately and they were able to replace the creamers with a fresh batch. Thank you again for taking time to write a glowing review! We look forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Address: 310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.