We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL IN GREAT LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save with the AAA Rate!
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Montrose
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL IN GREAT LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Nice room, plenty space, good lounge and breakfast area and nice to have a lakeside walk just outside the door. Access to Canal Park area just yards away, with plenty restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: We like the Canal Park View, rather than lakeside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    119
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
113
124
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is a smaller sized Hampton. We stayed on the 2nd floor and noticed how it seemed like we needed to tiptoe and whisper. Hotel itself is nice and clean. Good location with an entry to the boardwalk out the rear entrance of the hotel. Several restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast area had typical Hampton choices, food was hot, and area was well cleaned and well stocked. Coffee and hot chocolate are available at all times of the day. Price is a little more expensive for this hotel than other comparable Hamptons because you are paying for the location. Beds were firm (but not too hard) and supportive so we slept well. Beautiful views from this hotel. If you don't plan on spending much time in your room, book a city view room and save money!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

As others have mentioned, this Hampton is located next to Lake Superior, and rooms on the lake side of the building have views of. . . lots of water. Rooms on the other side look out over the parking lot and toward the freeway and the downtown core area.

The hotel has finished what appears to be a major refurbishment. Common areas are nicely done, and there is a computer with internet access across from the front desk. The hotel also has an exercise room and guest laundry on the first floor near the lobby.

Guest rooms are on the small side, quite a bit smaller than, say, at at Hilton Garden Inn. Bathrooms are larger than those at other Hamptons I've stayed at, and are very nicely done. My room had a large flat-panel TV, mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The room was exceptionally clean. The HVAC system was weak and kept the room way too warm.

The rooms (mine was on the 3rd floor) don't do a good job of keeping out noise. I had a hard time getting to sleep due to noise from guests in the hallway, crying babies, and even conversations in the adjoining room. Fortunately, I always carry earplugs.

This Hampton property is nice and as mentioned has been recently updated. It's clean, located near many tourist attractions and within walking distance to a wide range of restaurants.

In all honesty, if there had been an HGI in Duluth, I would have stayed there rather than at this Hampton, as nice as it is. However, as this hotel is literally the only Hilton property in the area, if you're tied to the HHonors program like I am, it's your only choice, but that said it is a nice hotel and it will meet your needs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

The Hampton Inn is right on Canal Park, where everything is--good restaurants, museum, the bridge. We had the whirlpool suite with the lakeview and it was fantastic! It's everything you would want a hotel suite to be! There's a kitchenette off the entrance, a small living area, a separate bedroom, the huuuuge whirlpool and of course, a view of the lake. The bed was very comfortable, great pillows, very quiet bedroom. Great price, too!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We arrived at the hotel at about 8 pm and were greeted in a friendly way at the front desk. The attendant processed my reservation promptly and gave us the breakfast information for the next morning. Our room on the second floor had an excellent view of Lake Superior. While the city lights were attractive in winter, I am sure that the experience is enhanced in summer when the boardwalk is available. There is a very nice lounge area overlooking the lake adjacent to the breakfast room. It was very comfortable and warm even at this time of year.
The room was a good size and well laid out. It included a comfortable chair and a mini fridge. The beds were very comfortable and the duvets were great. The bathroom was slightly lacking in counter space with the usual amenities provided. There were helpful cards around the room informing you of services provided. For example when I realized I had forgotten my shave cream in the morning, I called the front desk and they delivered some (complementary size) pronto. Very good service.
The internet service was good after a somewhat slow process to log on via the Hilton site that pops up when you activate your browser. I used the code given. For Hilton Honors guests, perhaps using your ID would be faster.
The breakfast selection was very good and tasty including scrambled eggs, waffles, fruit, 4 types of juice and a selection of pastries and bread. All were fresh tasting. Lots of coffee available all day too!
Checkout was efficient. There had been a snowfall and the parking lot was ploughed so that guests could get out.
Great stay at a great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

This is a Hampton Inn, so all of the brand standards - decent beds and bedding, fridge in the room, free hot breakfast, free wi-fi, is delivered. I thought the breakfast was a step above some other Hampton breakfasts - less processed food, more food that looked like it was made by a real person in the same town. Like other Hamptons, the pool is not sized for exercise, it's there to keep your kids occupied. A particular strength of this hotel is it's spectacular lakefront location in Canal Park, within walking distance of a very good Thai restaurant, Caribou Coffee, and other restaurants as well as attractions. Duluth is a great town. Only con for this hotel was the front desk service - which wasn't bad, but was not particularly welcoming. But not a big deal. At $89/night with a spectacular location, this place was a steal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine River, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn duluth and were very pleased with our experience. I loved the view from our third floor room- we were able to see Lake Superior and the boardwalk. The complementary breakfast was exceptional and we really enjoyed the window sitting room overlooking the lake. They had a nice selection of breakfast as well. Our room was fairly quiet and overall the experince was great. We will definately be visiting this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Address: 310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.