We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convention stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Convention stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staying at the Holiday Inn in Duluth was the BEST place for a convention. There is a direct path to the DECC and this helps in any weather. The rooms were clean and attractive. The only drawback was the elevator system. So SLOW! This was understandable with a big hotel, though. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Duluth.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    28
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
24
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It's ok. Freshly renovated. Clean. Gorgeous view of the roof . Very very very slow elevators. Unable to efficiently handle large groups. Convenient to DECC via walkway. Friendly staff. Catered food for convention was good. Two pools on different floors.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for 3 nights at the hotel. Front desk staff was great and friendly, especially Carrie.
Our room is supposedly a Harbor View room, but we could hardly see the harbor plus the window was filthy so we ended up closing the blinds most of the time.
Our shower curtain was disgusting, stained from previous guests.
I told the front desk staff and they were very apologetic and promised to get it sorted immediately which didn't happen until I followed up again the next day.
Carrie sorted it out for us after we stayed for 2 nights and again very apologetic.
The room lacks a couple of small things (instead of a comfy sofa or chair, it has 2 dining chairs). We have stayed at many IHG hotels, and this one is definitely subpar.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were on the 11th floor and in the far corner so it was really quiet here. The view wasn't the best unless you like looking at other buildings. But since we had been here before the view wasn't what we were looking for. The parking was a little limited this trip due to some areas being closed for repairs. Commuters use the parking garage as well so if you leave, you may not find a parking place left for you. I think something should be done to reserve spaces for the people at the hotel.

The free wi-fi was worth what we paid since I watched a spinning ball most of the time I tried it. I even called the desk and was given an alternate path but still could get online but never was able to open a second page. I tried different locations in the room and different times of the day (mid morning, mid afternoon and evening) and still couldn't get through. Use a lot of phone data plan instead of being able to connect to the wi-fi.

We didn't try the restaurant or bar options because of the many meals provided by our convention. I do like the walkways because it was cold and rainy the first two days we were there.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place has friendly staff, very helpful. It is on the walkways and we stayed there for a convention at the convention center. Be aware that the round trip to the convention center is 3/4 of a mile. Too long for anyone with mobility issues. Driving around the city was not that tough though and you get free parking. We paid extra for Lakeview and enjoyed it but it isn't exactly close to the lake. They are building something next door that may soon obstruct the view. The restaurants on site are very good but hours are very limited.

Room Tip: We liked the higher floors. They also had security you had to use you room key in the elevator to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are IHG Rewards Club members and are grateful for the special perks which that brings us. Front desk staff, especially Nathan, were very professional, helpful and friendly. Our room was upgraded due to our reward status and we also were given a remodeled room which was very comfortable, new and fresh. Beds were restful and we had a relaxing stay. The extensive walking paths near Lake Superior and trendy restaurants and shops on Park Point are an extra reason to visit this nearby Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: General Advice: Stay away from elevators and vending machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a conference and have stayed here every year for past few years. Never disappoints! Walk through skyway back and forth from hotel to DECC, easy and safe. Great parking and hotel stamps your ticket-so free. Extras: water cooler, water with lemons in lobby. Rooms have been reminded, quiet, clean, can't hear through walls. Professional staff. My only issue was one elevator was down during high traffic time and wifi was spotty in the room. Comfy bed, pillows and self controlled air/fan. Clean smelling and lots of outlets. Spacious room and lots of light. I have a hard time sleeping in hotels because of noise, but no issues here!

Room Tip: 7 floor or above you need your key card to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Address: 200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#13 Family Hotel in Duluth
#17 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as three restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.